We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northridge,ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Rooms an facilities were beautiful and comfortable. The front desk attendant, Cameron is a treasure. He was well informed and gracious!

The rooms overlooked the bay, which was nice, but neighborhood is a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and to compliment one of our team members. I will certainly let him know you mentioned him in your review.

Unfortunately we don't have many restaurants or shops right next to the hotel, and since we are close to the freeway, it might seem like a worse neighborhood than it is. But I hope that our beautiful property and waterview location makes up for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    67
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
116
79
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Azusa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Loved staying here. Room was huge, and nicely decorated. The hotel looks newly refurbished. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was generous, and the " fancy coffee" machine is available all day. Free shuttle to the BART. Wonderful view of the bay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in more than a few Best Westerns.This one is a standout.Not only are the amenities really great but the staff could serve as a training ground for customer service.Prior to booking the room, Chenell took a good amount time getting my wife (who gets sea sick in a bath tub) comfortable with SF ferries.I was impressed and Chennel was the reason I booked the booked the reservation.Tim OB 6/2 & 6/3

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you Tim for the compliments on our customer service! We work very hard to meet the highest possible standards of service and make our guests feel like home. I am glad our hard work is paying of.

I will let Chennel know that you appreciated her help and service.

I hope everything went well with the ferry to SF. It is very convenient and let's you avoid traffic.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My party of 3 found reprieve here for 2 nights. You will open the door to find a large, tidy, updated room. We stayed in a double queen & it met our needs with 4 pillows on each bed. Full coffee service is offered all day & breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were treated with class. Cameron went out of his way to accommodate us. The dryer didn't work properly. He just kept giving me change until things worked. Recommended the ground floor suite with sliding doors out to the lawn and a beautiful view of the Bay. Coffee machine (free) ground fresh beans, cappuccino great. Breakfast was a great spread. Hot tub and pool very clean. Late check out was standard. Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Back side ground floor suites open out on to private lawn, running path along the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Weekend. Felt like we were staying in a high end hotel. Rooms were nicely appointed and it was clear it had been recently updated. All rooms are great, but especially enjoyed the upgrade the second night to a room with a bay view, just beautiful!
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is one of the nicest Best Westerns we've stayed in. We had our kids with us and were plenty satisfied thru our stay. The room was an oversized king with a pull out couch and plenty of room to walk around the room. The deck overlooked the water. We enjoyed the plentiful breakfast and I got spoiled by the coffee machine that made whatever coffee beverage you liked, even hot coco for the kids. The front desk staff, in particular Chennel and Jay were so helpful and offered suggestions for eating out and places to take the kids. We were even offered shuttle rides to and from our destinations. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and kept the rooms very tidy. We even enjoyed the pool (at the sister property next door) and were given plenty of towels at the front desk. A pleasant stay all around!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am glad you had an amazing time at our hotel! We really appreciate you leaving us feedback on your stay with us. We are proud to have such wonderful team members as Jay and Chennel representing the hotel. I will let them know you appreciated their helpfulness and customer service.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.