We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Budens, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel twice on our coastal trip in California. Once going North and once going South. It was very clean and modern with a great staff and very well appointed rooms. The breakfast was very nice and offered a good choice.Fruit bowl seemed always filled. The coffee tea, and chocolate bar was 24hours and much appreciated as was the room kitchenette. The views were very nice of the river and the various river activities. We plan to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room as teenage athletes were running around both times we were there. However, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    60
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
104
68
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The customer service provided by Cameron was superior. The other front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are large and modern and the property is well maintained. The internet connection and house keeping were inconsistent. Overall our expectations were met; spacious room, free shuttle service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging our hardworking staff and for sharing your experience with us. Customer service is our number one priority and I am glad it shows.

I'm sorry to hear about the inconsistent internet. We did have a few minor issues with our internet connection a couple of weeks ago. We had someone look it over the other week and it should be all taken care of now.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you are visiting Oakland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are a business traveler this hotel is for you. It is centrally located and next to the bay. Great views, excellent staff - super friendly and everything you need as a business traveler can be found in your hotel room. They have free wifi, a nice breakfast every morning and upgraded amenities. I travel to Oakland often, and I always stay in this hotel. Cameron at the front desk provides world class service. He is always willing to help you with any of your needs and is great at executing. Ask for Cameron!

Room Tip: ask for Jaccuzzi tub room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Grest hotel! Great location. Staff is very helpful and nice. Beautiful views of the water. Outside area the sit and enjoy a morning cup of coffee or an evening dessert to watch the sunset. Beds are very comfortable, bathrooms gorgeous, hotel well kept

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Everything at this hotel is top rate except for one big thing for me. I want hot tea in the morning with breakfast, not coffee. If you are a tea drinker the tea is really bad. They have a nice selection of teas, but they are all equally bad when added to the hot water provided for the tea. Someone here is being lazy. They are heating up the hot water for tea by running it through the coffee maker. The hot water tastes like really bad week coffee, and makes all the tea taste really bad. The hotel needs to install a separate hot water maker and dispensor and stop mixing with with the bad coffee. I won't stay here again unless they change the way they heat and dispense their tea water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you Dennis for making us aware of this. I looked into the hot water situation and I truly apologize for your experience with our hot water. We have strict guidelines for our staff to make sure we provide the absolute best quality service and products throughout your stay. It seems like, this particular procedure have not been followed during your stay.

I have brought this up in our latest staff meeting to make sure this will not happen again. There is a separate tap running on the outside of the coffee machine that should be used for hot water.

Like you mentioned, we have a great selection of Numi Teas, of at least 6 different flavors every morning, and we usually receive wonderful reviews of them.

I hope you will give us a second chance and return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really nice hotel. Convenient to freeway or Bart System with free shuttle service. Complimentary continental breakfast plus more. Huge and nicely styled rooms and really nice bathrooms. The one complaint might be the water pressure of the shower. Overall I was very impressed. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended. I wish I had more time to check out the fitness center and pool. Thanks. P.S. Not Usually into leaving feedback but I had to make an exception for this.

Room Tip: Standard room was more than adequate.
See more room tips
Green Features: Maybe a little too environmentally friendly when it comes to shower water pressure.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Best Western located on the Embarcadero, in Oakland was an excellent choice for our two night stay. Although it was busy weekend, staff was all the best!
Two stand out: Cameron at the front desk for check-in and shuttle services, was friendly, helpful, and attentive to every detail. Thanks, Cameron. Morning breakfast staff person - Montsarret was also a notable employee. despite very busy traffic on weekend morning, she was working constantly to keep everything stocked, and clean, I never saw her stop working!!
Breakfast selections were quite nice, lots of choices. food was fresh and hot. Also good coffees, which I appreciate!
Overall the hotel was really well run. Located on the waterfront, with very nice views. Rooms were very clean, everything perfect. Housekeepng did a fine job, while we were out.
Swimming pool and outdoor spa was sparkling clean. Spa was hot and also clean. Pool area was clean, and located right next to the bay for pleasant views.
I think a well run hotel, with quality funishings, and staff that work hard to be courteous and meet needs desrves recognition. I highly recommend this Best Western.

Room Tip: rooms on the bay side are quieter, and have vicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.