We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This isn't your fathers Best Western.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pelham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Wow! This isn't your fathers Best Western.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really nice hotel. Convenient to freeway or Bart System with free shuttle service. Complimentary continental breakfast plus more. Huge and nicely styled rooms and really nice bathrooms. The one complaint might be the water pressure of the shower. Overall I was very impressed. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended. I wish I had more time to check out the fitness center and pool. Thanks. P.S. Not Usually into leaving feedback but I had to make an exception for this.

Room Tip: Standard room was more than adequate.
See more room tips
Green Features: Maybe a little too environmentally friendly when it comes to shower water pressure.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    70
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
118
81
15
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Best Western located on the Embarcadero, in Oakland was an excellent choice for our two night stay. Although it was busy weekend, staff was all the best!
Two stand out: Cameron at the front desk for check-in and shuttle services, was friendly, helpful, and attentive to every detail. Thanks, Cameron. Morning breakfast staff person - Montsarret was also a notable employee. despite very busy traffic on weekend morning, she was working constantly to keep everything stocked, and clean, I never saw her stop working!!
Breakfast selections were quite nice, lots of choices. food was fresh and hot. Also good coffees, which I appreciate!
Overall the hotel was really well run. Located on the waterfront, with very nice views. Rooms were very clean, everything perfect. Housekeepng did a fine job, while we were out.
Swimming pool and outdoor spa was sparkling clean. Spa was hot and also clean. Pool area was clean, and located right next to the bay for pleasant views.
I think a well run hotel, with quality funishings, and staff that work hard to be courteous and meet needs desrves recognition. I highly recommend this Best Western.

Room Tip: rooms on the bay side are quieter, and have vicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed at other hotels in the area and really liked this one. Clean, friendly staff, huge room! I stayed in one with a whirlpool tub. Stay was short (about 9 hours) but I loved it. Right next to the freeway and a train across the freeway and never heard either one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What can I say? Nice hotel! However, I was very surprised that Best Western had switched from Executive! The room condition is very nice. I really like the separate tub and shower. Nice water view from my balcony. Clean hotel and nice facilities. The service is what I like most of this hotel! When I checked in, Mr. Cameron was smiling and happy to assist. As I spoke with him, I found out he is a fellow Spartan, as I am an alumni of SJSU, was very happy to hear. We need more informative, and knowledgable college students like himself. He was also a very good listener, and he placed me in my preferred room as requested. Note: I came in without a reservation, and still had my preference met!

Thank you, Best Western! I'll stay again!

Room Tip: Water side! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Clarence for sharing your experience with us. We switched over to Best Western just about 2 months ago. It is our former suites building that has now turned into the Best Western Plus Bayside hotel. The two hotels are still under the same ownership, but guests in our former suites building, now the Best Western, will receive reward points now.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff and service. I will make sure to let Cameron know.

I hope to see you back with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel greatly exceeded my expectations! I booked multiple suite rooms and they were much larger than anticipated - there was plenty of room for 3-4 people, allowing us to claim our own space. The rooms were also very clean, the beds comfortable, and I was happy with the balcony to enjoy the waterfront view. The staff was wonderful and made us feel welcome. They upgraded one of my rooms without charge when they had an issue with water leaking in another room. This hotel was one of the few in the area with free wi-fi, free parking, and complimentary breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family/friends and will plan to stay here again in the future when I am in the Oakland area.

Room Tip: Choose waterfront suites for better views of Embarcadero Cove and San Francisco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This nice hotel with rooms on the Waterfront, without the noice of the 880 Freeway, made our 4 nights stay to enjoy travelling to a Big City.
Parking free for our car, bringing by shuttle to Lake Merriot BART station, we were in half an hour downtown SF .
As seniors we had a greencard from BART, that means $ 24 value for $ 9 pro person.
The breakfest is fine, the room was nice and clean. Good services overall, for a price we could not find in the region.

Room Tip: Ask for Waterfront with balcony and enjoy your sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is a somewhat cheaper place to stay in Oakland near the Estuary.
A pleasant and peaceful place with large open space common area and well maintained.

While not a "bargain", I prefer staying here than the next closest Best Western over by the Oakland Airport.

Free parking and shuttle service to Jack London Sq/public transportation hub. I was surprised parking was free, which is not common in the Bay Area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Estuary are worth it If you like sunsets, take the right hand side. Main floor su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.