We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on timing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Lady

Fat Lady
201 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3808
510-465-4996
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,111 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Depends on timing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've gone to the Fat Lady for years. Love their corn beef & cabbage on St. Patrick's Day. Recently had a fabulous brunch, so took our daughter-in-law the following week. And learned an important lesson, maybe. Our second brunch visit was before a holiday weekend, and late in the serving day. The service was slow; my corn beef hash was inedible -- too dry, practically tasteless -- was it left under heat lamp too long? was it too long in preparation??. The server didn't charge for it, for which I was thankful. But I realized that timing is important -- the week before we had come earlier in the serving day and totally loved the experience. Food was super. So, my advice, come to Fat Lady, but to optimize your chances, reserve ahead of time, make sure you are their mid cycle, not close to closing time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Brunch, Nice little cozy place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had brunch there. The food was very good and well priced. The service was friendly and efficient. If you are in the area, you should give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Really delicious dinner, elaborate food, well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had one of our best dining experience in the USA at the Fat Lady. The food was really elaborate, tasted really excellent, with special care to enhance the taste of the fish (meat is on the menu but we didn't have any) or seafood with delicate herbs and spices, rather than with loads of salt, sugar or sauces.
We enjoyed their Clam Chowder and shared a Cheese Plate, then all praised the taste and deliciousness of our entrees: fresh fish of the day (sea bass cooked to perfection), crab raviolis, grilled salmon. Wine list is rather short, but adequate and reasonably priced. For the quality of the cuisine, everything was priced right. We finished dinner with perfect desserts, for once not too overwhelmingly sweet: Creme brûlée, chocolate torte, apple pie. Everyone was sampling the others' desserts and complimented their choice.
Making a reservation was easy (and necessary for 7). We were seated in the room at the back, which seemed quieter than the main room, where conversation might be difficult. We loved the ambiance, music and decor.
There were several couples dating, but Marie our server was fantastic with our three kids: she accommodated entrees and even a dessert for them. She really cared about our experience and smiled, seemingly enjoying working there. The cuisine and our server really made us want to come back.
One possible improvement? That the restaurant gives a coupon for the public parking lot across the street, and advertises it on their website.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant and it has become one of our favorites. The atmosphere is great and the food was exceptional. Service was so accommodating! They have a great bartender who makes wonderful black cherry margaritas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Cozy Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have had dinner at the Fat Lady many times. It is a small restaurant with a good size bar. Dinner is seafood/continental and plenty of good choices. Service is good, definitely worth having dinner here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fat Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Lady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.