We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mezze Restaurant & Bar

Mezze Restaurant & Bar
3407 Lakeshore Ave, Oakland, CA 94610-2307
510-663-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 1,068 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Trestle Glen Road
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Five os us, including two little children, enjoyed our meal last night. Excellent menu, excellent service. I enjoyed my Greek Pizza. My wife said her Spaghetti Squash was also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good Mediterranean food in Oakland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I hadn't been here in a while and was ready for a refresher. We were on the early side and service was prompt. We all enjoyed our meals; 2 of us had the chicken kabob (it was very good; I tried some) and 1 had the duck . I wanted the chicken kabob, too, but didn't like the idea of 3 of us ordering the same item, so at the last minute I sprang for the wild mushroom risotto (with sausage). I'm glad I did. The risotto was creamy but crunchy. The peas were fresh. There were plenty of mushrooms. It was just the right amount of food. Mezze is a very good restaurant, and they support local non-profits when they can, and this is important to me. This was a memorable dining experience for us and we'll go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, and a quiet relaxing atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Certainly fulfills the category of a First Class neighborhood gem! Offers understated elegant ambience, friendly service, and food more flavorful than expected. The Scallop dish was so yummy until I wished I could have been served a bit more of it on my plate....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Close to Lake Merritt, there aren't too many restaurants better than Mezze! The atmosphere is great and the service is consistent. One thing that always surprises people I go here with is how good the Caesar salad is! Isn't a Caesar salad just a salad? Yes, but theirs is one of the best I've ever had.

Always ask for the waiter's recommendation. They have never led me astray.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Going Down with the Titanic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The special event- " The Last Dinner on the Titanic" authentic 7 course menu with Mushroom duxelle puff pastry, Barley soup, poached salmon with a musseline sauce of dill and cucumber, filet mignon with real seared foie gras, scalloped potatoes and wine demi glace, orange juice champagne refresher, asparagus salad and profiteroles for dessert- all for $55. With the 1958 film"Titanic" screened on the wall with subtitles, and many guests dressed for the occasion- it was a fine evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezze Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mezze Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezze Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.