We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cote

A Cote
5478 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1552
510-655-6469
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Cote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,123 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lawton
Transit: Rockridge Bart station 3 blocks north of the restaurant
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Had an intimate dinner with long time friends and the patio atmosphere was pèrfect. Our server, who was warm and personable, was knowledgable and guided us to wines that paired well with each course. I love when a restaurant delivers on every level and A Cote did just that. From the cocktails and wine, to the mussels with Pernod, squash blossoms, quail and
desserts, all were well thought out and creative. Add to that great atmosphere and service and you have a perfect evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great new oakland favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant immensely and it has immediately become a new favorite. The ambiance is great with a very pretty outdoor garden patio in the back and some private booths. There are a number of cozy tables and several chef’s tables where everyone seems to mingle in great fashion. The menu consists of mostly Mediterranean small plates with French, Italian and Spanish influences. They, and a few larger plates, are served family style and are meant to be shared. The menu changes weekly but the pommes frites with aioli and mussels with Pernod are staples. All dishes, including asparagus and leek tart, pork ribs, and hazelnut crusted halibut were excellent. The warm rhubarb brown butter cake and coup a cote desserts were spectacular. There is a very creative cocktail list and an extensive wine list of mostly Mediterranean wine with about 40 wines by the glass. Some of the wine offerings are not typically seen. Service is top notch and our server, Jon, was very knowledgeable about the dishes and the ingredients. This restaurant is very popular and reservations are highly recommended. Dine early if you can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“they must get paid to clear the table!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was delicious, but they were way to quick to clear dishes away whether were done or not. It took over 20 minutes to get wine to the table and they kept taking away plates with food on them. Maybe it was only two mussels or half a sausage, but with five of us, we wanted every bit of yummy food they served!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The menu redeemed the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family made a reservation to dine, only to be told we'd have to wait for a table. Ordinarily this is not a problem, but two of our party were elderly and they not only had trouble with the bar stool seating in the miniscule waiting area, but some of our party observed the hostess give away a suitable table just upon our arrival, so that added to our anxiety. We suspect that it might be difficult to please all comers to this popular eatery, and that they make challenging ad hoc decisions as folks come through the door. That said, they offered to make us comfortable with beverages to compensate for the wait, and the food made up for the early chaos. The seating is tight. The noise level is high. The lighting is low and therefore planning share plates is a bit tough. That said, the quality of the food is very high. We ordered 5 share plates for 5 diners, and one extra entree (since one of us wanted the halibut - certainly not the type of dish to share). We could have easily been satisfied with 4 dishes for 5 reasonably hungry folks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in the Bay Area. Been there many times, last Fri visit.
On down side, reservation system not working, waited too long even with reservation but it was so worth, like every other time.
Great window table and great atmosphere with fig martini to start perfect meal.
Had fresh mussels and salad. Cheese plate, all exceptional.
As ex restaurant Manager and owner I can recommend this establishment for great food and atmosphere to anybody, especially for date night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cote also viewed

 

Been to A Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.