We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Fav place in the East Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cote

A Cote
5478 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1552
510-655-6469
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Cote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,064 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lawton
Transit: Rockridge Bart station 3 blocks north of the restaurant
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Fav place in the East Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I know there are amazing traditional style restaurants in the East Bay... but A Cote has always been my favorite. Yes it's dark inside, but a wonderful atosphere, great people watching and people talking. It is impossible to sit at the bar, whether you are with someone or not, and not meet other people. Bar tenders are the best, the mixed drinks are top notch and they have a resale license so that they can sell any of the wines you taste for good prices! Also the food is excellent!! The pomme frittes and and mussels are always amazing, the steak, the flatbreads, varied menu entrees are always excellents. There salads and desserts and not the highlights.. but overall the quality of the food matches the quality of everything else and this wonderful, local hangup.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    42
    30
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fargo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yes Please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were looking for a French place. We got it, The food was great, very attentive service, Menu has great French dishes, Food was hot and great, wine list has some different wines .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Special occasions only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I don't know if I would recommend this place. The food is very good, but the atmosphere was awful. It was definitely not worth the cost of the food. The lighting drove me crazy and there was a lot of noise, especially from the kitchen. It's very hard to enjoy delicious food in a very poorly lit, loud building! The service was good, however. They were very attentive and the food came in a timely manner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dissapointing food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This little place was a first choice for us when in this part of Oakland and so on Saturday night, when looking for a place in the Rockridge area, this was an immediate pick. This will not be the case again. We ordered the Lobster and Mushroom flat bread and could not get over the the level of grease, the lack of lobster and the overcooked, tough mushrooms. We each ate a piece and looked at each other to see if we both felt the same way. The waiter asked how our dinner was and we told him the grease level was too much. His solution was to return the other two pieces to the kitchen and have the chef sop up the grease. Really? So off he went and from that point on, we never saw him again. Our limp, slightly less greasy cold flat bread returned, we will not.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ambience equaled by great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Love this little place; quietly cozy, happy buzz. Outdoor patio my favorite. Always has interesting takes on fresh food, European palate, very interesting wine list of not-familiar wines to try. Staff knowledgable and willing to ask about special requests. Always go here when in town, about once a year. Back corner, by the garden with drapes on two sides is the best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cote also viewed

 
Oakland, CA
Oakland, CA
 

Been to A Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.