We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mezze style food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Cote

A Cote
5478 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1552
510-655-6469
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,047 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lawton
Transit: Rockridge Bart station 3 blocks north of the restaurant
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Mezze style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The service was exceptional, very, very accommodating (10 of us tunred up without a booking!). The menu is quite technical so the staff helped giude us through to some very good eating. The wine menu was eaqually as interesting Lebanese , Croation wines etc. Again staff helped with delicious results. Being so technical it can be quite intimidaing, but if you're OK about "I don't know what all this means!" you'll really enjoy the place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    42
    29
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Eclectic delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

This one is worth tracking down. Every menu item is meant tobe shared, so your palate will never get bored. Our party of six had sardine crostini, marinated olives, artichokes, steak, lamb, pasta carbonara, and more. Each dish was large enough to share and delicious. The service was impeccable. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Rockridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have been to A Cote four times either with friends or with my partner and have had pleasant experiences each time.

As a vegetarian who is allergic to mushrooms, I always find a few things on the menu that I CAN eat and that I WANT to eat. Wish there was more variety in that area though--depends on the season. Last night I had the spring onion and green garlic soup which was delicately flavored and the fromage blanc crouton was a nice touch. We also shared their pommes frites, which are very salty and tasty and come with a lemon mayo concoction and a romaine salad with creamy garlic dressing, asparagus, and sieved egg. My partner had mussels and since she can't eat dairy, they made them without dairy and she loved them. Since she eats just about anything, she feels there is a great variety on the menu.

The drinks are good--interesting combinations. The atmosphere is nice--i like the tables in the little nooks.

Service is always very good-almost impeccable. Wait staff eager to answer questions and help lead you in the right direction whether it's to help you decide on a drink or meals.

I think this place is best to go with a few people or with someone who eats what you eat so that items can be shared.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent intimate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I had an unexpected and very welcome warm reception here after 9PM on a Sunday night. We needed something to eat before a 45 minute drive home and stopped by A Cote to see if they might still be serving dinner. Were pleasantly surprised to have the hostess say, "Absolutely, we serve until 10". We were seated at a table for 4 in a little niche by the wall. The food was superb. I had grilled asparagus with blood orange and Meyer lemon relish, yum, Croque Monsieur and pommes frites. Perfect for a late night meal. Hubby had a salad that he declared sublime and a skirt steak on a crouton, which he said was like nothing he had ever eaten. It was garnished with Hen-of-the-woods mushrooms, which he had not tasted previously. He is not crazy about mushrooms, but he loved these. I had been to A Cote two years ago and had the mussels, which were wonderful.
The atmosphere here feels like you are in a tiny Parisian bistro. It is dark and intimate and the music is very retro. We will definitely return when we are in Oakland/Rockridge.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was a last minute thing on Saturday night...St. Patricks Day, with no reservations. We arrived relatively early hoping to get on a waiting list and get seated and we were not disappointed. The four of us had a cozy table. Very good service...very interesting menu. I didn't recognize any favorites from the wine list but waitress steered us in the right direction with a Tuscan "Pinot Noir" type wine. Smaller plates served family style so we could all enjoy each plate. Nice offerings which we were told change every six weeks.

Place was full...food was good. Maybe economy is getting better!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cote also viewed

 

Been to A Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added A Cote to your Saves list