We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIAM Bay Authentic Thai

SIAM Bay Authentic Thai
1009 Clay St, Oakland, CA 94607-4025
(510) 452-1499
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 1,075 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great service, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Excellent for dinner! Note that many of their customers actually don't like spicy food, so they tend to make it mild. You can insist that they make it hot. The smoked chili eggplant is superb, especially with the sticky rice which we love. Siam Bay makes wonderful fishcakes, and my MIL loves their stuffed chicken wings. Unlike the pretentious indifference of Le Cheval next door, you'll get GREAT service here. Come more than once, and they'll actually remember you!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perhaps Sunday is a bad night to go.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Drove in to Oakland early for a concert on Sunday night with the idea of finding a nice dinner. That was my first mistake. Almost everything is closed on Sundays. After walking and looking for an hour, I ended up at Siam Bay. The Vietnamese restaurant next door to it was packed and had a wait list, with people spilling out onto the sidewalk. The Bay had a few tables full at 6 pm. That should have been my first clue.

Siam Bay is well - apportioned with authentic Thai feel but the decor has seen better days. The service was fine and the place has the feel of a comfortable local restaurant. The clientele reflected the multicultural make up of the city and while I dined several groups of people came in who were obviously regulars.

But perhaps I am spoiled. The town I live in has ten or 12 Thai restaurants - depending on the current economic conditions - and although I have my favorites, if I ended up in any one of them I would not be disappointed. They range in styles from authentic Chiang mai to westernized Thai. That feeling would change if Siam Bay ended up in that rotation, and I ended up again at Siam Bay.

Maybe I should have gone with some of the more "authentic" dishes, but I went with the tourist staples. I have to say that the vegetarian spring rolls were very good. But the dipping sauce was insipid. I ate the last few pieces without sauce. The sate was fine, but the peanut sauce was tasteless, except for being oily. The cucumber salad was in the same sized bowl as the peanut sauce - tiny. In the case of the peanut sauce, this was fine as it had no flavor. But I could have kicked up my liking of the sate a little more if I could have flavored it a bit with the salad. Less than a shot glass worth.

The pad thai is from the goopey school with about a dozen bean sprouts on the side and no peanuts. It was just starchy, white, and sweet. It could have used a little tamarind to brighten it up - both color and flavor.

I would rate the whole experience 2 1/2 stars if that were possible. I'd like to think that I wandered in on the A team's night off, as other reviewers have found this place to be really good. But I would not return and recommend caution before deciding on this place for dinner.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“authentic southeast asian Thai cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

an unassuming restaurant sandwiched between the former Le Cheval and a former cafeteria style japanese restaurant on what was to become oakland's restaurant row. siam bay has stayed the course while the others have, for various reasons, not. you've got to try this place because it is about as authentic as it gets. i have traveled throughout southeast asia at least 80 times and the subtle flavors of thailand are well represented in this quaint and quiet restaurant. if you are only accustomed to milder foods prepared for the less adventurous american, this restaurant can also accomodate these preferences.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai lunch buffet, oh my.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Siam Bay Authentic Thai Cuisine on Tuesday-Friday from 11:30am to 2:30pm, in addition to their menu, they offer a small buffet including salad, soup, dessert. There's Pad Thai, egg fried rice, mixed vegetables, yellow curry chicken with potatoes, deep fried fish filet with Tamarinde sauce with the buffet on the day I went. The topioca with banana in sweet coconut milk was quite delicious, sweet, sensuous taste, a very nice way to finish the meal.

Lunch: Sunday, Tuesday through Friday from 11:30am to 3pm. Dinner: Tuesday through Thursday from 5pm to 9:30pm, Friday through Sunday from 5pm to 10pm. Credit cards accepted with $15 minimum.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, beautifully presented, and inexpensive too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This has been one of my favorite Thai restaurants for over 10 years. It is an unpretentious, family-operated neighborhood restaurant where each dish is skillfully prepared and beautifully presented. The menu contains a variety of dishes, including a good selection of vegetarian fare. Portions are ample, and prices are low, as an unexpected bonus. The service is attentive. There are a lot of Thai restaurants in the Bay Area, but this one stands out!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SIAM Bay Authentic Thai also viewed

 

Been to SIAM Bay Authentic Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIAM Bay Authentic Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.