We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably should NOT tell you about Barney's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers
5819 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1602
(510) 601-0444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 1,069 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Concord
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Probably should NOT tell you about Barney's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have never counted, but Barney's has more than 50 hamburger, cheeseburger, turkey burger, veggieburger, chicken burger, younameitburger choices. The burgers are delicious. I have tried at least 10 different choices. The turkey burger is delicious.

And, the fries, especially the curly fries, are very tasty. Oh, by the way, the servings are more than adequate.

Finally, Barney's serves milk shakes IN the silver goblet.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    11
    12
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Salads!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Barney's is known for it's burgers, but I go for the salads. They serve huge salads with fresh ingredients, and are very flexible about substitutions and additions. Every salad I've ever had there is impeccably fresh and well-balanced. The house vinaigrette is quite good. Friends are happy to meet me there and enjoy both the burgers and the available substitutes (you can choose chicken, veggie patty, or turkey burger.) For me, though, the salad is king.

Seating is pleasant and clean. The kitchen is in full view, which I always find reassuring. Meals are very consistent from one visit to the next. They've gone to giving guests a large bottle of still water when they arrive, with glasses, which is a nice touch.

Downsides: the service is sometimes uneven. I haven't been able to see a pattern in it, but some days everything is slow. On a good day, the service is wonderful. I'm rating it "average" for service but that's splitting the difference. For that reason, it isn't a place I'd recommend for a "quick bite." However, it is a great place to get a healthy meal.

Extra points for being near the Rockridge BART station in a fun neighborhood for walking.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Above-average Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My office is a block away from Barney's, so I have lunch here about once a month. The atmosphere at this location is much better than the Barney's on Piedmont Avenue. They have plenty of seating, both indoors and outside, either in the front of the restaurant, or in their back patio area. But Barney's is much more than atmosphere.

The burgers here are above average, and sometimes spectacular. Their menu is full of great options, including the some of the best Specialty burgers around. My personal favorite is the Alpine burger, with Swiss cheese and sauteed onions & mushrooms. Another great one is the I always order my burgers medium rare. A close second is the Guacamole burger, loaded with fresh "guac", jack cheese and sour cream. Oh and I can't forget the Chipotle, with its spicy sauce and jack cheese. I could go on and on, but you get the picture.

Barney's is also well known for their spicy curly fries. A full basket is HUGE. So if you are on your own, get the small size. The homemade ranch dipping sauce is awesome. If you are tempted to try the garlic fries, don't. They are a bit dry, and aftertaste from the garlic will last for days. If you're into lighter fare, Barney's has a full menu of salads and other items as well. They also do milkshakes, but you might want to pass on those as well. Why? Because the landmark Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream parlor (less than a block away) is the ideal place for dessert.

Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers is located on College Avenue in Oakland's Rockridge Shopping district. The restaurant is a couple of blocks from the Rockridge BART station, and easily accessible from highway 24.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Barney's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great sports bar that has beautiful burgers. I highly suggest you check it out.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We went for lunch and got there just before the crowd. When we left people were waiting on the street. Lots of different choices for additions to the burger! I can see how some people might be disappointed with the burger. They are not thick (but the bun is pretty large so quantity was not an issue); much of the flavor comes from the rest of the ingredients which we found to be quite fresh and flavorful. We also tried the falafel (small patties) - very crispy and quite good. The spicy curly fries and the sweet potato fries were excellent.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers also viewed

 

Been to Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.