We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Local Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zachary's Chicago Pizza

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
5801 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1602
510-655-6385
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,132 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Zachery's is locally famous for thick pizzas, available by the slice during the day. More sauce than most, very fresh tomato taste, and a crispy crust thick enough to hold the weight of the topping. They also have a deep dish, which I imagine is even richer. I have been stopping by monthly for years. Always great..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    61
    17
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calexico, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wow.. this place is the best, Pizza lovers will be in love, lots of good selections to choose from. Waiting will be requierd, but its worth every bite.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Deep Dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Best Chicago-style deep-dish pizza in the Bay Area -- and I grew up in Chicago. Try the Mediterranean on a whole wheat crust.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Chicago Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am a huge fan of Chicago stuffed pizza (my personal favorite in Chicago is Lou Malnato's). Although I wouldn't say that Zachary's is quite as good as Malnato's, it is a very good imitation! A bit pricey though. Good selection of beers. I went to the location in the Rockridge area of Oakland, convenient to the BART station. I arrived about 4:30 pm on a Sunday and had no wait. However, by the time I left 90 minutes later, there was quite a line.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Cal students love it, the yuppies love it, just about everyone loves it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best pizza in the bay area! When Cal is in, it is packed Friday-Sunday. Most Fri and Saturdays they don't even answer the phone for take out order after about 4:30pm!.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zachary's Chicago Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.