We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deep Dish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zachary's Chicago Pizza

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
5801 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1602
510-655-6385
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Deep Dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Best Chicago-style deep-dish pizza in the Bay Area -- and I grew up in Chicago. Try the Mediterranean on a whole wheat crust.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    54
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Chicago Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am a huge fan of Chicago stuffed pizza (my personal favorite in Chicago is Lou Malnato's). Although I wouldn't say that Zachary's is quite as good as Malnato's, it is a very good imitation! A bit pricey though. Good selection of beers. I went to the location in the Rockridge area of Oakland, convenient to the BART station. I arrived about 4:30 pm on a Sunday and had no wait. However, by the time I left 90 minutes later, there was quite a line.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Cal students love it, the yuppies love it, just about everyone loves it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best pizza in the bay area! When Cal is in, it is packed Friday-Sunday. Most Fri and Saturdays they don't even answer the phone for take out order after about 4:30pm!.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always good pizza -- Can't beat Zachary's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everyone in the family loves Zachary's deep dish pizza. It's often crowded but worth the wait. They also sell half-baked pizzas for you to finish at home. The spinach and mushroon deep dish is my favorite!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Crowded and noisy, but oh so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Zachary's is an East Bay institution, and anyone visiting the area should stop by. The place is hugely popular evenings and weekends so be prepared to wait. The deep dish pizza is their signature dish. It's awesome. Especially the pepperoni. Incredibly filling and flavorful, and you be coming back for more. In fact, I've never tried any of the other pizzas. Well worth the trip. Fortunately, the restaurant is one black away from the Rockridge BART Station on the Pittsburg/Bay Point Line.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zachary's Chicago Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.