We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some of the best pizza on the planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zachary's Chicago Pizza

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
5801 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1602
510-655-6385
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 1,047 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“some of the best pizza on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Seriously, this place is a dining experience for the pizza lover! The spinach mushroom pizza is absolutely delicious as is everything on their menu. I have never gotten a pizza from Zachary's that has been anything other than awesome.

Due to the fact that this place is very unique business establishment, they don't deliver and they only accept cash. if you live in a local area, you can get it delivered by a third-party delivery service.

Try this place. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    90
    45
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

the mustard dressing is as good as the pizza. the wait is often long but worth it. we like 3 cheese with spinach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
“A Taste of HOme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Zachary's is always crowded for good reasons: mainly, the Chicago-style pizza tastes like the real thing, the staff is always efficient, pleasant and used to handling the constant throngs of people waiting to take out or sit down in the no frills dining room. The wine is plentiful and well-priced, and makes the wait go faster. If you are an Oaklander, you will probably run into someone you know, and if you are a visitor, you will enjoy the wonderful neighborhood experience. They are famous for thick crust pies, but I love the crispy thin crusts, especially the Good Health with a whole wheat crust, spinach and chicken.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Have no idea why people like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have so many friends who adore Zachary's pizza. We've had it at least half a dozen times at parties, including a couple of weeks ago by SIL's request (moving out of state; this was her choice of a farewell pizza). We've had thick crust and thin crust. Meat and vegetarian. From three of their EBay locations. And without exception, we simply do not understand the passion for this mediocre local pizza chain.

Pizziaolo makes the best pizza in Oakland. We also love Nizza La Bella/Berkeley's incredible "La Fruits De Mer “Bouiabaissa" pizza - stunning, brilliant creation. Also amazing is Oenotri/Napa. But Zachary's - no, no, no.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I've enjoyed Zachary's for years, and keep on returning for great pizza. Many people love the stuffed pizza (particularly the spinach and mushroom special). Yes, that's delicious, but what I really like is their thin crust pizza. It's the perfect texture of thin crust. And it's always topped deliciously.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zachary's Chicago Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.