We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run - excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shan Dong Restaurant

Shan Dong Restaurant
328 10TH St Ste 101, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 839-2299
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 999 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
South African in Dulwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family run - excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Huge portions - be careful of ordering too many dishes. Restaurant full of locals (which is always a good sign) and service was very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“shan dong, yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Homemade noodles, dumplings, fantastic sweet and sour chicken (shan dong chicken) and excellent prices. Best bang for your buck in oakland china town and the noodles make me salivate just thinking about my last visit. Excellent!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food in Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Read good reviews about this place on Yelp and I found out why. The food was excellent with many fresh vegetables and the best homemade noodles around. The ambience is like a diner but you go to a restaurant for the food, right? If you agree then you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at a Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The four of us took advantage an offer on the menu to select five dishes for less than $40. Servings were generous, the food delicious and the service polite. My daughter took home a little of each except the squid with bell pepper and black bean sauce which disappeared after my 3rd helping.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Average Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Staying in Oakland this week for business, and decided to get some Chinese food upon arrival in the city. Shan Dong was highly recommended by the front desk clerk at the hotel, so I decided to try it out. The service was quick, but the taste of the food was mediocre. I know it's not a great thing when the only thing that makes Chinese food have a good taste is adding salt...in fact, I get worried when I see salt and pepper shakers on a table in a Chinese restaurant. In addition to the Beef and Broccoli for my meal, I ordered pot stickers. I found them to be overstuffed and too large, which resulted in them being too gummy/doughy. I was disappointed in those!

The restaurant was relatively clean, but cluttered.

Probably would not go back - especially when there are much better Chinese restaurants across the bay in San Francisco.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shan Dong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shan Dong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shan Dong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.