We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run - excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shan Dong Restaurant

Shan Dong Restaurant
328 10TH St Ste 101, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 839-2299
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 1,046 restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
South African in Dulwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family run - excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Huge portions - be careful of ordering too many dishes. Restaurant full of locals (which is always a good sign) and service was very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    16
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“shan dong, yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Homemade noodles, dumplings, fantastic sweet and sour chicken (shan dong chicken) and excellent prices. Best bang for your buck in oakland china town and the noodles make me salivate just thinking about my last visit. Excellent!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food in Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Read good reviews about this place on Yelp and I found out why. The food was excellent with many fresh vegetables and the best homemade noodles around. The ambience is like a diner but you go to a restaurant for the food, right? If you agree then you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at a Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The four of us took advantage an offer on the menu to select five dishes for less than $40. Servings were generous, the food delicious and the service polite. My daughter took home a little of each except the squid with bell pepper and black bean sauce which disappeared after my 3rd helping.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Average Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Staying in Oakland this week for business, and decided to get some Chinese food upon arrival in the city. Shan Dong was highly recommended by the front desk clerk at the hotel, so I decided to try it out. The service was quick, but the taste of the food was mediocre. I know it's not a great thing when the only thing that makes Chinese food have a good taste is adding salt...in fact, I get worried when I see salt and pepper shakers on a table in a Chinese restaurant. In addition to the Beef and Broccoli for my meal, I ordered pot stickers. I found them to be overstuffed and too large, which resulted in them being too gummy/doughy. I was disappointed in those!

The restaurant was relatively clean, but cluttered.

Probably would not go back - especially when there are much better Chinese restaurants across the bay in San Francisco.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shan Dong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shan Dong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shan Dong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.