We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average but not exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BayWolf

BayWolf
3863 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611
510 655-6004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
BayWolf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,128 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Californian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Vista
Transit: Bus #51 and #59 both stop on Piedmont Avenue.
Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Above average but not exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had dinner at Baywolf while vacationing in northern California. We wanted to take our hosts to dinner and they suggested Baywolf. It was a fairly good meal although there were a few sour notes. The interior of the restaurant is hard to categorize. Is it rustic? We were seated in a sort of porch area at the front, One of our friends asked that one ingredient be left off the salad but when the salad arrived, that ingreadient was still there and the waiter asked our friend if he needed to remove it or if he needed to bring a whole new salad. I think he should just have brought a whole new salad without interrogating our friend. Also, my husband ordered a pork shank which had very little meat and was mostly bone and gristle. He was very disappointed. It seemed an odd item to have on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Noisy rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have dined at the Bay Wolf throughout the years. While the food is excellent, the noise factor detracts from the dining experience. Last night, we were seated in a long room with tables for four lining each wall. Unfortunately, a group of 30-somethings, young professionals who were sure that neighboring diners must want to learn the content of their entire conversation, was seated diagonally from us. Their loud voices, along with those of the other diners, made it difficult not only to carry on a conversation, but also to hear anything being said.

The meal was excellent. I had the grilled swordfish and Caesar salad. The service, too, was excellent.

So, where are we left? If you don't mind a din of grand purport, Bay Wolf is a wonderful selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We took the extended family out to celebrate a birthday. A champagne cocktail seemed appropriate and the description sounded unique. In fact is was awful. We should have sent it back, but didn't. We thought it would "grow on us". It didn't.

The rest of the meal was much better. It seems that everyone enjoyed both appetizers and main dishes, especially the duck.

We were nervous about being seated on the closed-in porch, since it was quite cold out. But their heaters kept the temperature acceptable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny,Ny
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable experience and a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are from New York, and I would classify us as foodies. I really don't understand some of the poor reviews of this restaurant. We travel to the Bay Area to visit family five or six times a year, and almost always make a stop here. Although the menu is rather limited, we have never had a bad meal at Baywolf. The cooking is quite imaginative, and the prices are very reasonable. From a value perspective, I would rate this as excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Special Occasion Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Food and service impeccable. Consistent for a number of years. I have a daughter who lives on the east coast who always wants to visit this restaurant for a special occasion. We have never been disappointed.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BayWolf also viewed

 

Been to BayWolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BayWolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.