We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food at terrific prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BayWolf

BayWolf
3853 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611
510 655-6004
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
BayWolf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 1,116 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Vista
Transit: Bus #51 and #59 both stop on Piedmont Avenue.
California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Tasty food at terrific prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Was working close by so my colleagues and I decided to check out BayWolf, which I had recently read about. It was midweek and the place was pretty quiet, so we were seated immediately on the patio. I started with the caesar salad which was good but then came my entree -- lamb shoulder with white beans. It was incredible! Good portion size at a very reasonable price. My fellow diners all tried something different: fillet of sole, polenta w/ short ribs and duck with vegetable ragout. All were incredible! Polite, attentive staff. They only sell wine and beer. A great choice on Piedmont Ave which is becoming a diners mecca!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Monday night tasting tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I met a high school buddy of his at BayWolf recently when we were visiting the Bay area. He eats there often but had never been there on Monday nights. That is when they do a tasting menu. The portions are meant to be shared. We had a number of dishes they were very good. The atmosphere was good also. I can't comment on their regular menu but the tasting menu was a hit with us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food......excellent desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Loved the neighborhood and the welcoming feel of the Baywolf. Started with The duck liver flan.....so smooth and tasty. Next we had the duck bourguignonne which was cooked to perfection and the steelhead salmon with tangerine buerre blanc.....simple and good. The desserts were wonderful and hard to decide which ones to order as they all sounded soooo good. We decided to go with the cookie platter including biscotti and macroons and a lemon meringue tart.....which was a perfect way to end the meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Beach, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Salads, Seafood or Hearty Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place is a Piedmont Avenue classic. I get warm and hungry just thinking about it. Never have been disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“It is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

It is a good restaurant. Not my favorite but the food is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BayWolf also viewed

 

Been to BayWolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BayWolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.