We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, authentic Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dopo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dopo
4293 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611-4713
510-652-3676
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,116 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This little spot on Piedmont Ave is consistently good and has a great wine list. Parking is a challenge but worth the trouble.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Dopo is my favorite restaurant. I have celebrated many special occasions here over the years, and I have also spent many evenings dining here just because. It is that kind of restaurant: Able to straddle being both a local neighborhood spot and a destination for fantastic cuisine. I credit this to the excellent food (the Pizza Dopo is the best pizza I've ever had) and the low-key, friendly atmosphere. What's more, the prices are reasonable and the service is terrific. What's not to love?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing but simple Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is some of the best Italian food I've had in Oakland. The menu changes regularly, to accomodate for what's fresh and in season. They also make fresh ricotta in-house, which is maybe why it tastes like heaven.

Highly recommend Dopo for a casual (albeit somewhat pricey) meal - sit at the bar to watch all the action.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been eating at this restaurant since it just opened. I remember having a memorable salad while seating outside when they use to have seating on the side of the building, and went around the kitchen to get there. A great place for making an impression with a date, out of town guest, and "foodie" friends. Yes it is in Oakland!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food and the service was worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

8 of us ate/did not eat at Dopo. We all shared appetizers and 8 different food items. 2 of the 8 were good, 6 out of 8 were terrible. The service was very lacking. We decided to try Dopo because a local food critic recommended it. In the future we will be very suspect of local food critic's reviews. Do not eat here if you are a tourist extremely disappointing very poor value for your dollar.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dopo also viewed

 

Been to Dopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dopo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.