We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fentons Creamery and Restaurant

Fentons Creamery and Restaurant
4226 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611-4749
510-658-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,079 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte
1 review
“Its cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

had an excellent experience that i decided to hunt down the branch in chennai. i was so surprised to arrive there with a plethora of anxious diners waiting to get a table! my friend and i tried to work our way into getting a table by telling that we drove for an hour (which was true!) and that we're foreigners and leaving soon (which was true for me). the lady considered this and gave us a table after about 30mins of waiting.

the grills are great, and i got so full that i never made it to the buffet table. service is ok, we get asked to replenish the grill often that we had to decline after a while.

tip: make sure to book a table!! it's a pain to do a walk-in, they'd even close it at some point.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kavinya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“We all scream for ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

it's an old fashioned ice cream shop! The portions are huge .... it will give you the giggles when it arrives. The ice cream is made on site. Tons of sunday ideas/flavors or grab cone to eat as you stroll Piedmont Av. It is loud. When you say Fentons to locals, everyone smiles.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too sweet and too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had heard so many great things about this place and finally went. I thought the ice cream was too sweet, too expensive, and too soft. I won't ever go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hlmh201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Goodies Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Diverse menu crowned with ice cream creations that are tempting beyond comprehension.

Sandwiches are ample and tasty,

Price are truly reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank aflimberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

it just down the street from my youngest school, so we always stop to eat. Nothing fancy just good quality and fullfilling

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank oaklandfinest l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentons Creamery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fentons Creamery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing