We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fentons Creamery and Restaurant

Fentons Creamery and Restaurant
4226 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611-4749
510-658-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,132 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Charlotte
1 review
“Its cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

had an excellent experience that i decided to hunt down the branch in chennai. i was so surprised to arrive there with a plethora of anxious diners waiting to get a table! my friend and i tried to work our way into getting a table by telling that we drove for an hour (which was true!) and that we're foreigners and leaving soon (which was true for me). the lady considered this and gave us a table after about 30mins of waiting.

the grills are great, and i got so full that i never made it to the buffet table. service is ok, we get asked to replenish the grill often that we had to decline after a while.

tip: make sure to book a table!! it's a pain to do a walk-in, they'd even close it at some point.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    123
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We all scream for ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

it's an old fashioned ice cream shop! The portions are huge .... it will give you the giggles when it arrives. The ice cream is made on site. Tons of sunday ideas/flavors or grab cone to eat as you stroll Piedmont Av. It is loud. When you say Fentons to locals, everyone smiles.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Too sweet and too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had heard so many great things about this place and finally went. I thought the ice cream was too sweet, too expensive, and too soft. I won't ever go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Goodies Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Diverse menu crowned with ice cream creations that are tempting beyond comprehension.

Sandwiches are ample and tasty,

Price are truly reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

it just down the street from my youngest school, so we always stop to eat. Nothing fancy just good quality and fullfilling

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentons Creamery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fentons Creamery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fentons Creamery and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.