We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all scream for ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fentons Creamery and Restaurant

Fentons Creamery and Restaurant
4226 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611-4749
510-658-7000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,067 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We all scream for ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

it's an old fashioned ice cream shop! The portions are huge .... it will give you the giggles when it arrives. The ice cream is made on site. Tons of sunday ideas/flavors or grab cone to eat as you stroll Piedmont Av. It is loud. When you say Fentons to locals, everyone smiles.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    118
    86
    30
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too sweet and too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had heard so many great things about this place and finally went. I thought the ice cream was too sweet, too expensive, and too soft. I won't ever go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Goodies Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Diverse menu crowned with ice cream creations that are tempting beyond comprehension.

Sandwiches are ample and tasty,

Price are truly reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

it just down the street from my youngest school, so we always stop to eat. Nothing fancy just good quality and fullfilling

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the ride to Oakland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE the ice cream! Some would say 'eh, its ice cream, how special can it be?!' but I dare them to say that after visiting this place! Not only the ice cream is delicious, but their dinner food as well! Went with a group and split an appetizer and salad (to balance out the ginormous sundaes.) Needless to say, we walked out of there with sticky faces, satisfied appetites and tighter fitting pants!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentons Creamery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fentons Creamery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fentons Creamery and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.