We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too sweet and too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fentons Creamery and Restaurant

Fentons Creamery and Restaurant
4226 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611-4749
510-658-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,111 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
california
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Too sweet and too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had heard so many great things about this place and finally went. I thought the ice cream was too sweet, too expensive, and too soft. I won't ever go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    102
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Goodies Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Diverse menu crowned with ice cream creations that are tempting beyond comprehension.

Sandwiches are ample and tasty,

Price are truly reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

it just down the street from my youngest school, so we always stop to eat. Nothing fancy just good quality and fullfilling

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the ride to Oakland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE the ice cream! Some would say 'eh, its ice cream, how special can it be?!' but I dare them to say that after visiting this place! Not only the ice cream is delicious, but their dinner food as well! Went with a group and split an appetizer and salad (to balance out the ginormous sundaes.) Needless to say, we walked out of there with sticky faces, satisfied appetites and tighter fitting pants!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fentons is a hold out from a long time ago. It is history and good food. The building has been renovated but the food and service is traditional and great. It is rare to find young people who can listen to your order and bring exactly what you requested! The good ones work here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentons Creamery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fentons Creamery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fentons Creamery and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.