We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Historical Architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lake Theater

Grand Lake Theater
3200 Grand Ave., Oakland, CA
510 452-3556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Alameda, Ca.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historical Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Attend a movie here and the bonus is seeing this magnificent restoration. An art deco masterpiece! Great theatre for first
run movies and filmed Opera performances

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLeon Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really cool place to watch a movie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The historic Grand Lake Theater is simply one of the coolest places I've ever been during my vacation at Oakland.
I was there to watch Wreck-It-Ralph and I watched it inside a Egyptian-themed theater. It's way too dark to capture the presence of Egypt and find my seat, but I was able to see the hieroglyphics and King Tut on the top of the screen.
My brother-in-law told me that the theater can be held for big movie premieres, so I was able to catch a glimpse on the biggest movie theater I have ever seen and that's also where they play the movies with big box office hits.
So when you want to watch a movie in the theater, check the local online times, find a parking spot that is close to the theater, buy a ticket, popcorn and a drink and take a picture of the amazing interior design of the theater. It's AWESOME!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful art deco movie theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Grand Lake Theater is a beautiful art deco decorated movie theater. On Friday and Saturday nights they often have an organ player before evening shows in the main theater.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“gorgeous grand dame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love watching movies here and I love when they sell popcorn at a special rate or free night... Makes me want to go to the movies every week!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine Old Movie Palace with good politics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Four theaters, two small but not tiny, one large, and a big majestic main hall. On weekends they have the pipe organ music before the movie in the main theater. It is an enthusiastic knowledgeable movie going theater . . . as is typical of the inner bay area... people stay for the credits. Plus the owner has good politics. He blasts politicians and programs he feels are outrageous (i.e. war, GOP, etc.), and local issues, in his marquee so reading it is always a treat. He fought the big studios in a monopoly lawsuit because they wouldn't let him show first run movies and won a substantial settlement from them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Theater also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lake Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lake Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.