We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a Dark and Stormy Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B-Side BBQ

B-Side BBQ
3303 San Pablo Ave., Oakland, CA (Formerly B Side BBQ)
+1 510-595-0227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,065 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: We are a full service barbecue restaurant serving lunch and dinner. We have a full bar, and we're open from 12PM to 10PM Tuesday through Sunday. We have a 26 Zagat score, which is the highest for a barbecue restaurant in the San Francisco Bay Area. Both Travel + Leisure and Food & Wine have included B-Side BBQ on their lists of America's Best New Barbecue.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“On a Dark and Stormy Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

B-Side BBQ review for Trip Advisor

I started eating here when they first open because I am a major fan of Tanya Holland’s other restaurant, Brown Sugar Kitchen. I knew she wouldn’t disappoint with the food.

The menu has evolved since it’s grand opening (she no longer offers the shrimp, which were delicious), but most everything on the menu is fabulous.

I am a major fan of the brisket (which would often be out when I would go to order it, but now it appears they always have it). My second favorite is the dark and stormy ribs. She needs to bottle the sauce and sell it!

I love both items so much I recently ordered some to take on a trip with me so my sister could try it (she gave it two thumbs way up)!

Other likes include the Texas toast that comes with most orders, the macaroni and cheese and the chicken wings (spicy, spicy, spicy!)

They now have happy hour and serve good quality liquor (love that they offer Hanger 1 Vodka, which is made right down the street in Alameda). The place is small, but the atmosphere is unique, cozy and relaxing.

The staff is great, which is an added bonus.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    6
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“B SIDE BBQ - Gourmet “Oakland Style” BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We are big BBQ fans and are always happy to hear that a new BBQ restaurant has opened in The Bay Area. We were particularly interested when we were told that Chef-Restaurateur Tanya Holland, from the very popular Brown Sugar Kitchen www.BrownSugarKitchen.com in West Oakland, had recently opened a sister restaurant on San Pablo Avenue called B SIDE BBQ. Tanya has impressive credentials as she studied cooking at La Varenne Ecole de Cuisine in Paris, France then honed her culinary skills working with many celebrated chefs in both Europe and the USA including Bobby Flay. She is also the author of several cookbooks and is a TV personality.
B SIDE BBQ is a small restaurant with a fun vibe, artistic decor and a cool bar. They have a few individual tables and also offer high top seating along a dining bar. The walls are filled with commissioned Artwork that honors African American Cowboys by April Banks. The cuisine is Wood Fired BBQ made with locally sourced and sustainable ingredients including Niman and Prather Ranch Meats and Mary’s Organic Chicken.
We started out with a few of their new specialty Cocktails made with Tanya’s hand crafted drink syrups. We enjoyed the Harlem Rides the Range made with Tequila, Mezcal, ginger syrup, citrus, and hellfire bitters served in a tall fancy glass and the South of the Border Lemonade made with basil vodka, mescal, cilantro, agave and lemon served in a mason jar. These were great cocktails! Then we began to check out the focused menu.
We found the Rib Ends Appetizer a great way to get your taste buds in gear! We loved everything that we tasted including the Dark & Stormy St. Louis Ribs, Jerk Spiced Baby Back Ribs, Smoked Hot Links which are 50% pork and 50% beef. Our absolute favorite was the Brown Sugar Rubbed Brisket which was super lean, flavorful and juicy and definitely the best we’ve ever had! We didn’t try it, but our neighbors raved about the BBQ Glazed Salmon. The Sides that we enjoyed included tasty BBQ Baked Beans, Buttermilk Cornbread, Macaroni and Cheese and Pickled Vegetables. We finished our meal with an excellent dessert, the Corn Bread Pudding which is a “must have”!
B Side BBQ serves excellent “Oakland Style” BBQ and has a Full Bar. There is Dine in or Take Out and they are now open 11 AM – 10 PM Tuesday-Saturday and offer Happy Hour Drink and Appetizer Specials. We really enjoyed both the BBQ and chatting with our neighbors at the next table! The B Side is a reference to the B side of a single “record”. Famous B sides include Hound Dog by Elvis and I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor. Don’t be surprised when the B SIDE BBQ is as popular as their “A Side” Brown Sugar Kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the East Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've been looking for a good BBQ place in the East Bay for a while, but kept coming up disappointed. Then I tried B Side BBQ. I loved the decor and the vibe, the service was super friendly and professional and the beef brisket I had was really tasty. Nicely smoked, with almost a beef jerky taste at times and super tender. A great find. At $10 for a half serving it might be a little pricey, but there was a LOT of meat so...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty, Smoky Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Why did this reviewer cross the road (and pay the bridge toll from San Francisco)? To get phenomenal ribs, apparently. Yes, there are more 'cue joints than ever in the Bay Area, but B Side is worth driving to. The restaurant itself was pleasant and super clean, still fresh looking despite the increasingly ubiquitous modern rustic/industrial design, but it was the dark St. Louis ribs that made the grade. You bite down through a crisp layer with a perfect char to it, neither burnt to jerky nor cloyingly lathered in sauce, like many other places. Next, you tear into the smoke-perfect flesh, but wait...here it comes...savory, melting fat on the bone. The fat is where you taste the quality of the pig...B Side must choose their animals with love because that's what the ribs are: tasty, smoky love.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B-Side BBQ also viewed

 

Been to B-Side BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B-Side BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.