We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- What a ride”
Review of Bay Voyager day trips

423 Water Street, Oakland, CA 94607
510-542-4200
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 18 activities in Oakland
Type: Boat Tours
19 visitor photos
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow- What a ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Well what can I say but a very enjoyable trip !

Enjoyed seeing the city from the bay and we were all wrapped up in our protective gear.Charles kept us informed of all the attractions and history etc and all the family enjoyed the trip.

Two hours well spent in what was a calm day in the Bay !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A blast of a ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can't recommend this experience enough, especially if you or your kids are prone to boredom on the normal sightseeing boat rides.

First off, Capt. Charles has years of commercial experience and considers the safety of his passengers before anything else. We rode by a paddle boarder and his dog. The man had a flotation vest but the dog did not, which upset the Captain mightily. Safety for all! Rain gear and vests are supplied. You should arrive in warm layers of clothing because, well, it is San Francisco after all.

After safety comes fun, and fun it is! Climb onto the Bay Voyager and begin the 2 hour trip from Jack London Square out to the Golden Gate Bridge and back. There will be times you're blasting away whooping it up and getting sprayed by the bay, and there will be times when you slow down and listen to lore from the good Captain's wealth of knowledge about the area.

It is one of those great experiences that will be remembered for years to come.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A terrific ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

You get protective gear, and it will serve you well! You will get the spray of the Bay, and will bounce on the waves for an exciting ride! Go on a day when the sun is out, and you will be rewarded with wonderful views around the Bay. The boat carries may be a dozen peaole, so it is a small, friendly crowd. The captain knows what he is doing, and is there to please. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Having a Blast on the San Francisco Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I bravely took my daughter and 10 of her 14-year-old friends on the Bay Voyager for her birthday on a Sunday in early June. From the start Captain Charles made us feel we were in good hands, from the donning of foul-weather gear to getting settled on the boat to venturing into the waters off Jack London Square in Oakland, we felt secure and assured we were in for a great time. Charles knows all about the sites along the way, adheres to safety first, and makes the overall experience lots of fun. You will get wet, but the gear keeps you dry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun and informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enjoyed seeing SF for the 1st time from this perspective - boat is fun and protective gear ensures you stay dry. interesting seeing the working dock as you leave Oakland to head towards the bay and Capt. Charles very informative. Got a real understanding of the layout and history of the city before even setting foot there - a great way to start our trip to to SF.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Voyager day trips also viewed

 

Been to Bay Voyager day trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Voyager day trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.