We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space, yummy food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Oakland

Haven Oakland
44 Webster St, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 663-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Haven Oakland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 1,116 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embarcadero W.
Transit: Free bus at both Webster and Broadway at Embarcadero. Civic Center and Lake Merritt BART stations are just a few blocks walk. Coming from San Francisco? Consider taking the Ferry over since it drops you right at in Jack London.
El Cerrito, CA.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great space, yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

If there was a way to give this restaurant 4.5 stars, I would. Food and drink you gotta taste. Had a great time watching our bartender create superb cocktails selecting ingredients from an assortment of homemade tinctures and infusions. We started dinner with two orders of brussels sprouts. Each leaf had been individually separated from their tiny heads and flash fried. Excellent. Our main course was roasted artichokes served over perfectly cooked grits. Delicious. Can be served with an egg. Good place for "date night," celebration, and business. Easily satisfy a variety of food preferences: herbivore, carnivore, omnivore. Definitely returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“New chef, totally awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We came here have Chef Kim's amazing Market Menu, only to find that they had changed Chefs. No worries. This restaurant still fires on all cylinders. The new chef has a very different style—kind of rustic French inspired—but we had some notable entrées and apps. (The speciality drinks are still meh—don't bother—but the wine by the glass choices amaze.)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seriously good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food was great, to be sure. But even more than that, the entire restaurant staff tried so hard to make our experience pleasurable. The chef has thought things out for himself and tries new things. I loved my squid, and the steelhead was terrific. The turnips tasted great, I was surprised to think I never have them otherwise. My wife's chicken was very tasty.

Our waiter was terrific. Knew everything about the food, in detail when asked. Very pleasant and humorous, and low key but attentive.

I love it when people try to do something seriously. They have done a good job here, and I bet it will get even better.

Go Oakland!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of Oakland's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Foodies from San Francisco are missing a great renaissance in Oakland. We started to go for the food trucks but the lines were too long. So grabbed bar stools at the Have. Bar tender knows his stuff and the steak with several kinds of grilled onions was amazing. I'll go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well done foodie fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Superb food, cocktails and service, in a nice location by the waterfront. Decor is open, dark wood, airy, staff are knowledgeable and friendly. As with its sister restaurant in Uptown, Plum, their portions are smallish and prices highish, so it's a little expensive for what you get. But go for a treat - it's a pleasure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Oakland also viewed

 

Been to Haven Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.