We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for concerts at the Oracle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Retired Traveler
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location for concerts at the Oracle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We few into the Oakland airport and stayed here for the Rolling Stones concert at the Oracle. They have 24 hour free shuttle service from the airport and to the BART station at the Oracle. This meant we didn't have to rent a car. We took BART into San Francisco to site see and didn't have to pay for parking. There were lots of people staying at the hotel going to the concert, so plan to leave early. The shuttle had to make a number of runs. I think this is a great inexpensive alternative to staying in San Francisco.

The hotel is in a warehouse area, but with the free shuttle; it's location is not a problem. The hotel and rooms were clean. The rooms were nice size and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    81
    37
    16
    7
See reviews for
73
64
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped at this hotel twice in April and May and on both occasions we were met by very pleasant staff, hotel has clean rooms and nice and comfy beds. On the down side no restaurant and you would have to have a car to go and find some were to eat. From this hotel it takes about one and a half hours to get too san francisco, that's driving to oak lads port and using the ferry which is 45 min trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Altho this hotel seems to get very mixed review, we were quite surprised and delighted when we stayed here overnight before a flight the next morning. We returned our rental car and then called them for pick up from the car rental facility. Our room was a king suite and it was very large, comfortable bed, large desk and hook-up for our laptop, and great sofa and chair area as well. It is an industrial area outside the hotel and no view, but inside was good. Also includes a full breakfast in the morning with eggs, sausages, do it yourself waffle maker, cereal, juice and coffee. Altho we didn't use them, we saw an area with computers and printers if needed. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful and also told us they would shuttle us to area restaurants and also pick us up after. Since there is little in the area, that is a nice amenity to include for the guests. We would definitely stay here again before a morning flight.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel was very close to where we were parking for our trip and close to the airport. The hotel is in a gritty area but appeared safe and secure. Our card and self were safe at the end of the stay. The air conditioner blows directly on the bed. Was nice when we arrived and the room was 80 but quickly became cold and prevented deep sleep. Staff was helpful and again, we were safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

OK rooms, back alley location, Hegenberger Loop, off Hegenberger Road. Made reservation 1 week ago. Most people get a hotel, because they are not from the particular area. This place is tucked away where you can't see it. Dark, high speed traffic 45MPH, you can't slow down and look for it. Marriott Courtyard, Hilton, are about the same price. Will not walk THIS neighborhood to look for a restaurant. People smoking right outside the entrance- move it away 20-30 feet. CLASS, that's it- it's about class. Sorry there ain't none. When I checked in, someone talking to the desk clerk wanted to check out and get a refund because the soda machine didn't work. There's two sides to every story. What about telling the guy I'll make a note of it for the manager? Or- something. Put up a sign you can see.
Not the best customer service, tacky neighborhood, pass this one by unless the rest are full.

Room Tip: Choose a good room at Courtyard, Hilton, at least a hotel on a main drag with restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed and many Best Western hotels throughout the years and this one certainly would not qualify as a B/W Plus in my opinion. I booked two rooms for my adult children, and my boyfriend and I. I called several times to make sure it was a park and fly and when checking in, was told that there was no more room for parking. Then they jacked up the price $75 for each room and said we could leave our cars. Terrible service and the manager should be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern05603, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off let me apologize that we did not have the Park and Fly option open on the date of your arrival. Please understand that our hotel has a limit on the number of Park and Fly reservations we can accept, due to our limited parking. As a courtesy we let you keep your vehicles at our property, and charged you the normal price per day for each vehicle. We did not "Jack up the price", as stated. We have various options when our Park and Fly package is not available as well. Our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service, can take you to, and pick you up from any offsite Airport parking location. Our Park and Fly option is not always available, please understand that there are limitations to this option due to circumstances beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.