We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

OK rooms, back alley location, Hegenberger Loop, off Hegenberger Road. Made reservation 1 week ago. Most people get a hotel, because they are not from the particular area. This place is tucked away where you can't see it. Dark, high speed traffic 45MPH, you can't slow down and look for it. Marriott Courtyard, Hilton, are about the same price. Will not walk THIS neighborhood to look for a restaurant. People smoking right outside the entrance- move it away 20-30 feet. CLASS, that's it- it's about class. Sorry there ain't none. When I checked in, someone talking to the desk clerk wanted to check out and get a refund because the soda machine didn't work. There's two sides to every story. What about telling the guy I'll make a note of it for the manager? Or- something. Put up a sign you can see.
Not the best customer service, tacky neighborhood, pass this one by unless the rest are full.

Room Tip: Choose a good room at Courtyard, Hilton, at least a hotel on a main drag with restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    99
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
91
76
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed and many Best Western hotels throughout the years and this one certainly would not qualify as a B/W Plus in my opinion. I booked two rooms for my adult children, and my boyfriend and I. I called several times to make sure it was a park and fly and when checking in, was told that there was no more room for parking. Then they jacked up the price $75 for each room and said we could leave our cars. Terrible service and the manager should be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern05603, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off let me apologize that we did not have the Park and Fly option open on the date of your arrival. Please understand that our hotel has a limit on the number of Park and Fly reservations we can accept, due to our limited parking. As a courtesy we let you keep your vehicles at our property, and charged you the normal price per day for each vehicle. We did not "Jack up the price", as stated. We have various options when our Park and Fly package is not available as well. Our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service, can take you to, and pick you up from any offsite Airport parking location. Our Park and Fly option is not always available, please understand that there are limitations to this option due to circumstances beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My 83 year old dad and I stayed here the night before our flight out of Oakland. The room they gave us on the second floor was 81 degrees in April at 7 PM. And the A/C unit DID NOT WORK. I asked for another room. The room on the third floor they gave us, the AC unit DID NOT WORK, but it was only 76 degrees. I called and they came and kind of fixed the unit. Disconnected it from the wall thermostat.

It's hard to change rooms with an older person who walks slowly.

The positive was that the front desk clerk let us into the breakfast room for a quick snack before it's normally open.

I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern05603, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with your A/C unit in both rooms you were given. I would like to point out that because of your review; we have thoroughly inspected each and every single room to make sure this does not occur again. I can understand that this may have been frustrating for you during your stay, but I can assure you that we are being proactive with any complaints we are given. Please contact me at the property directly, as I would love to talk with you personally. Thank you,

Jay Patel
General Manager
Best Western Plus Oakland Airport
510-633-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were on our way back from visiting family in San Jose and I wanted to go see an Oakland A's game. This was the closest hotel I could find to the stadium (and it is close, only a five-minute drive) and the reviews were good and the price was a little high, but within our typical budget.

There's nothing wrong with the hotel itself. The room was clean, the service was good and probably because it's an airport hotel, things were pretty quiet at night.

The location is horrible. I get that it's near an airport and all, but it's tucked back into an industrial area that has seen better days, about two blocks off the main road. The hotel's parking lot is surrounded by a fence and the parking lot is signed with notices about 24 hour security (which is probably necessary). There are no restaurants within walking distance.

As I was unloading the car, I got hit up for cash by a guy on a bicycle who just rode casually into the parking lot. I didn't have anything on me, but even if I did, I'm not that kind of person. The fact that I'm getting asked with two suitcases and numerous other bags full of baby-related stuff certainly doesn't help. He wasn't aggressive, but very skeptical, I guess, and he kind of nodded and said, "Alright, man." Then he just rode off. I think that's the sort of thing that makes people uncomfortable and I would think that security or hotel staff would keep an eye out for that.

The other bad thing is the parking lot: the spaces are very small. So there's a chance that if someone with a ridiculously large truck or SUV parks beside you, it'll either be very hard to get into your car or your car might get dinged by their door. Additionally, when I came back from the game around 10:00, multiple spots were occupied by two cars, so there were only three spots left.

It was a convenient, clean hotel but the location is not ideal in my opinion and I think the management needs to address a couple of things with security and the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent night there before leaving to hawaii. The shuttle was excellent, room was nice, comfortable quiet. Breakfast had lots of choices thought it was tacky for the breakfast attendant to put a tip jar out for a complimentary breakfast . Wish employees of hotel would let the guests get there breakfast before they help themselves. Staff at front desk were pleasant and driver.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.