We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From average to above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
San Fernando, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“From average to above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I do a lot of traveling within California I stay at the Best Western for it is close to where I have an office. When I first started coming to this place the "Full Breakfast" they called it was BAD it was always cold or the eggs turned green due to the time they got it ready. NOW they have improved that they have someone in the kitchen who knows what SHE is doing the presentation the ungreen eggs and the attention to small detail has improved and it shows. Also the rooms have always been clean and prepared excellent. They have also started a evening meal on Tuesday and Wednesday, The staff has always been on top of everything that I have requested. I now give them from a 5 what used to be my number to a 9 (10 being the top number, who ever gives a hotel a 10 is fooling themselves) GREAT IMPROVEMENT over the last couple of months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    99
    47
    18
    10
See reviews for
91
76
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
slc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have never had such a horrible experience in my life. We arrived to get our room only to be told that the reservation was for the night before. I said that was impossible and asked if they had rooms. They said yes but refused to waive the no show fee for the night before. We asked to speak to the manager. Denied. Asked to speak to the owner, Denied. Then he called Jared at Best Western. If it was possible, he was even worse than the man at the desk. Do your self a favor. Stay at the Marriott or the Hilton.

PS. There was no parking when we arrived. Cars were parked everywhere. It is a horrible part of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I take personal responsibility for any issues you encountered during your unpleasant stay with us. Our goal is to offer the best service, great amenities and clean, comfortable rooms. We apparently failed you, and I apologize. We have replace and retrained much of the staff since your stay and made other positive changes. You’ll find a much different experience at our property now -- plus a great price you simply can’t find anywhere else. I hope you’ll try as again next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had an overnight layover in Oakland. The room was spacious and clean. The friendly shuttle driver took us to and from the BART station so we could spend some time in SF. The night we we there they had a catered complimentary Chinese Buffett which was a nice treat since the hotel is located in an industrial area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is in bad area, there is nothing to do and the population is not so good. There is a Walmart near by with couple of fast food restaurants and that's all. It takes nearly half an hour driving to get to San Francisco.

There is a pool and a jackuzzi in the hotel, but they weren't working when I arrived the hotel, the pool fixed the next day, but jackuzzi took 3 days to fix and it was working with cold water.

The fitness room is quite small with old equipment, some of them event not working.

The room was big with a king size bed, but all the other furnitures was old. The TV was an old one with bad channel choises, so there is nothing to see on the TV (even can't connect my laptop to it). The air vantilator in the bathroom was noisy and when I complained about it, I have been told that it is same in every room and there is no option to turn it off (generally it should work once you turn on the switch in the bathroom, but here this is not the case). There was a coffee maker in the room with microwave, but there wasn't a kettle, so I needed to use the microwave to heat the water (there was a strong cheese smell in microwave).

The breakfast was complimentary, there were 3 types cereals, 2 type bread, one type cheese, one type jam, butter, waffle machine, scrambled eggs and sausages, bananas and apples, coffee and tea. So if you like to have a proper breakfast, you need to have it out side.

The hotel is ok if you consider the price, but I am sure there are other hotels better than this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which you can turn off the air ventilation in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights in late October and was very happy to have chosen this hotel. Inexpensive rate yet excellent service. As others have said - the shuttle is huge in making this such a good place to stay. Took it from airport/to BART multiple times/to Raider game/car rental counter and was not disappointed. While there is no restaurant/bar on site, the driver was nice enough to take us to the Marriott (a ride for which he declined a tip) and pick us up again later (I insisted this time).

Rooms were quite roomy and comfortable. Pool/hot tub small but serviceable. Breakfast wasn't fancy but more than just toast and coffee.

As for the neighborhood - I guess it's all what you're used to. While heading in one direction looked dicey and I wouldn't suggest walking it alone at 2am - had no problem walking to main drag for coffee in the morning. There's also a small shopping mall less than a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.