We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were staying here for just one night before flying from Oakland. We arrived before the check in time to unload our bags before dropping of our rental car and were delighted that our room was ready. We were quite tired from a long drive so didn't feel like venturing out to a restaurant so we were delighted with the selection of take out menus in the room. The room itself was very spacious clean and comfortable also.
The included breakfast was good too, great to set us up for the flight ahead. The shuttle driver to the airport was very helpful as were all the staff we dealt with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    82
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
64
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a trip to San Francisco because it was affordable, but I was pleasantly surprised by it! It took a while to find because there are three different streets with very similar names. The location isn't the best, but the hotel runs a shuttle to the airport and the Bart until 7 pm. Its close to the airport and the freeway so you get the expected noise. The hotel was very clean and well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our refrigerator and it was fixed within 10 minutes. The breakfast is very good. They have a nice variety, good coffee, and friendly attendants. There is plenty of parking and the front doors are key accessible at night. Overall I have had a great experience with this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Best Western is a little of the main road but easy to get to. Rooms were really clean and the indoor pool and hot tub were great. They had a toco night when we were there that was great and filling too, Other restraunts are close also. Plenty of parking so no problems. They serve breakfast in a.m. but our flight left to early to enjoy it.

Room Tip: I like bottom floor but there is an elevator so there are no problems with any floor. We had no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I missed the last flight of the night going back home and was forced to find a place to stay. I started to call around to find a place and when I called Best western "Milan" answred the phone and was great from our initial contact. From there it only got better. He sent a shuttle right away to come pick me up and they were there withing 5 minutes. The room and rate were great but thats not what got me. It was the customer service. When I arrived in disarray from not expecting to stay and not having anything with me. He let me borrow his Iphone Charger to get my phone back up and going. When I brought his charger back I asked about places to eat near by, I just figured I could walk he then went above and beyond and looked up times that places near there closed and told me he would ask the shuttle to take me to get some food since it was near midnight. When I didnt care for the food choices and just wanted something to grab something small he gave me a little care package which i think may have been his own lunch, Which had a granola bar a bottle of water and some chips.That was all I needed. Its really the little things that get you through. So Thank You MIlan and Best western

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This motel had very helpful staff. It's the stopping-over place of choice, I think, if you're arriving/departing by plane, and having to transfer to Amtrak, or vice-versa, or if you need to pick up a car at the airport, and have an overnight delay. The taxi fare from the Jack London Square stop at Oakland out to the airport is only $20 or so, and is worth it, especially at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights visiting Oakland and San Francisco to watch some ball games. First off let me stay that a major plus for this hotel is the shuttle service. I elected not to have a rental vehicle at all and that was good because the parking was kind of tight. Most nights there were no spots and people were parking all over the place. The shuttle ran regular routes to both the airport and the BART terminal. Plus additional trips out as people needed them. I didn't have any issues waiting except for 1 night after the A's game but that was only because there were too many people for 1 trip. No, problem. The driver was back in a few minutes and picked up another run. All of the drivers were very polite. The desk staff was terrific with the exception of the night clerk who talked at a mid scream level for the most routine conversations. The rooms were quite clean and the maid service was very prompt and efficient. The breakfast was great. Lots of different options bewteen hot and cold foods. The location was n't the greatest and I had been warned by other posters not to walk at night time, but there wasn't any problem in the daytime and there was a nice shopping/eating area within a few blocks. The only other issue I had was with the internet service which was quite tortoisemal (yes, I made up the word). Very sketchy. Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple times. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little hidden in Hegenberger Loop, but that helps it stay quiet. The rooms are large and the beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast is boring, the same scrambled egg stuff and sausage links every day, but the rooms have a fridge and microwave so you can make tour own if the variety is an issue.

The shuttle will take you, not just to the airport, but to BART and other nearby (within 3 miles) places!

I'm looking forward to staying here each time I visit OAK.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#8 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.