We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidentally found it but will be purposeful in our return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe, Oakland, California

Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe, Oakland, California
1805 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94612
510-251-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 994 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is right next to the Fox Theater in Oakland! I guess it opened recently? The food was quite good - got pics if you want 'em!
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Accidentally found it but will be purposeful in our return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Went for a morning walk from our hotel looking for breakfast and stumbled upon this place. It will be added to our list of places to return to. I had a southwest omelette and was very happy to sub soyrizo for meaty chorizo (I'm not vegetarian but prefer it since it doesn't have any mystery bits). --super friendly staff, great food, good prices, speedy and very relaxed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

wonderful staff, very nice. Fabulous merch aswell. We only went as we know the owner is Mike Dirnt of 'Green Day', but had an amazing time. The barmaid Heather was very good to us. It was very clean, not commercial (away from tourists despite us being tourists), the food was priced well and we had a good experience. We enjoyed this one better than in Emeryville (though that might be our memory's fading as that was 4 years ago - don't know how it is currently).
Only downside is the area it's in - luckily it's directly opposite a BART station.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We Are All Rudy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The waiters' t-shirts read, "I Am Rudy," and by the time you're finished with breakfast, you're hooked on being a "Rudy" too. Oakland can boast of one of the best breakfast places around (there's another Rudy's in nearby Emeryville). Its funky atmosphere and attentive wait staff make for a relaxed experience. And the food is tremendous. I had trouble making a choice from all the imaginative offerings but was absolutely delighted with my "Rude N’ Reckless" dish. Outstanding layers of thin sliced ham and poached eggs with hollandaise over hash browns. The coffee was great. This place can't be beat for price, quality, atmosphere. "I am Rudy!"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Downtown Oakland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Not many places to have diner in OAK, this one is a good place for a meal with kids. The food is quite good, American fare.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Late Night Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of the few places in the East Bay that is open late. When I went there a few days ago, it was packed at 9:45PM. The atmosphere is kitschy with our table having tiny dolls of Wonder Woman and robots and dragons under a plastic top. The next table had a real deck of cards laid out creatively under the plastic. An entire line of Barbie dolls graces the walls highlighted with blue lights. The food is decent with the giant hamburgers leading the way. I like to get the turkey dinner here but they were out, so I got a tasty mushroom Swiss burger. My friend got a chicken quesadilla which had lots of meat and great toppings like guacamole and sour cream and pico de gallo. The food was as good as the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe, Oakland, California also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe, Oakland, California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe, Oakland, California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.