We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky building, nice staff, conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky building, nice staff, conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went to Oakland to catch 2 A's games and spend a day in San Fran. The Washington Inn was exactly what we were wanting. (I was worried about our stay because of some of the reviews I read here.) We arrived after 1 am and found directions on the door as to who to contact to get checked in. Thirty seconds after making the call a very pleasant woman greeted us and got us all set up. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. There was no closet but there was an armoire with drawers. The street noise started pretty early in the morning (mostly deliveries and people parking at the convention center). The noise wasn't a big deal for us as we we're out of the hotel early every morning, but if you are a light sleeper or a late sleeper it might be challenging. There is a Smart & Final grocery store just next to the hotel. There is also a FANTASTIC boutique grocery/deli called Ratto's just around the corner. The Washington Inn is very close to a BART station and just outside of Oakland's China Town (which is far less touristy than SF's China Town).

We are most definitely staying at the Washington Inn for our next trip to Oakland. Our friends who live in Oakland were really excited to get to check out our room as they've always wanted to see the inside of the hotel. Some additional observations I would like to mention: the wireless wasn't the strongest and the breakfast is very simple and they end it at 9 during the week, so make sure you are on time. If you're looking for a hotel with a swimming pool, an awesome cable package, and a spa this is not the spot for you. If you are looking for a clean hotel, that is affordable and authentic do not hesitate to make your reservation.

Room Tip: If you are arriving late at night the check in instructions are on the door of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    39
    26
    28
See reviews for
23
39
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived. Wow the staff here was extremely accommodating. Our flight got changed so we asked Carlos if possible we could stay in the room a little longer and spend two hours more in the room. He was extremely friendly and cordial and granted our request. Thank you to Carlos. You truly helped us out a lot....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Washington is a throw-back historic hotel from days gone with a convenient location if you are attending an event at the Oakland Convention Center, or, for easy access to the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) to include about a 20 min. ride to San Fran. We had a suite with a 2d room w/kitchen which was useful as we just arrived in CA and were moving so had a lot of luggage. Staff are courteous, though few. The biggest issue we had was noise - there is a lot of noise from the street until late at night and there is a bar right nearby with patrons coming and going as late as 2 a.m. Parking is also difficult - a couple blocks down so not sure about security. We did not arrive with a car but there is a Hertz rental office next to the Marriott right around the corner.

Room Tip: high floor and away from the street - it's loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The room was simple but ok. Bathroom looked clean. Free breakfast every morning in the lobby. The BART station is only a five minutes walk (BART to San Francisco takes about 20 minutes). There is a supermarket next to the hotel. And on Broadway there are free shuttle busses (can take you to Jack London Square Amtrak station).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Newly refurbished historic hotel. One block from the BART. Met our needs perfectly. Friendly staff. Free breakfast Ok but we like to eat out. Had a suite at a great rate. A bargain in the Bay Area. Across from Convention Center so convenient if you have a meeting there.

Room Tip: We were on 2 nd floor and heard some noise from restaurant/ bar but not bad. Would still stay on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hesitated on booking after reading inconsistent reviews, but our accommodations and experience were terrific. We stayed during the week, and it was nice and quiet. Got the 2 room king suite on the 4th floor for $141/night, that's including tax! Additional $15/day for parking at the convention center. Great location - 2 blocks to BART. Downside - TV's are ancient, furniture mismatched, but I'd far prefer an affordable gem like this than twice the price at the Marriott across the street. I hope they keep it just like it is - unique and great price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Washington Inn is located in Old Town Oakland. It is right off the BART line on 12th St. Excellent dining options, including several small ethnic restaurants, are close by on Clay Street. The free continental breakfast provided was also nice. My room was extremely clean. It had a good view of Old Town architecture. The service was good and everyone there was friendly. I enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Room 409 was airy and had a great view of old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.