We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel for convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Newly refurbished historic hotel. One block from the BART. Met our needs perfectly. Friendly staff. Free breakfast Ok but we like to eat out. Had a suite at a great rate. A bargain in the Bay Area. Across from Convention Center so convenient if you have a meeting there.

Room Tip: We were on 2 nd floor and heard some noise from restaurant/ bar but not bad. Would still stay on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    37
    23
    27
See reviews for
21
36
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hesitated on booking after reading inconsistent reviews, but our accommodations and experience were terrific. We stayed during the week, and it was nice and quiet. Got the 2 room king suite on the 4th floor for $141/night, that's including tax! Additional $15/day for parking at the convention center. Great location - 2 blocks to BART. Downside - TV's are ancient, furniture mismatched, but I'd far prefer an affordable gem like this than twice the price at the Marriott across the street. I hope they keep it just like it is - unique and great price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Washington Inn is located in Old Town Oakland. It is right off the BART line on 12th St. Excellent dining options, including several small ethnic restaurants, are close by on Clay Street. The free continental breakfast provided was also nice. My room was extremely clean. It had a good view of Old Town architecture. The service was good and everyone there was friendly. I enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Room 409 was airy and had a great view of old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Staying in Oakland on business and I selected this hotel because from the website and the description on Hotels.com, this looked like a relatively nice place. There is a 'vintage' feel to this hotel but I would NOT call it charming or a "luxury boutique hotel" as it is self described. I actually would NOT use the words luxury or boutique. The room is generally clean but the threadbare sheets and blankets left much to be desired. For example, my "queen bed", which was actually a full bed, had what I assumed was a down comforter, except the comforter had been so overused that it looked like just a sheet. The television looks like the first model ever created, which really is not such a big deal, but the reception was awful and I could not get a clear picture. The staff I encountered was nice enough and accommodating but this place was definitely NOT worth the $138 I am paying a night. Needless to say if you are looking for something that is a couple of steps above a motel, stay here, but if you are hoping to come back and relax in comfort after long travel and meetings, DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

First, why stay here? Location and economy without sacrificing too much quality. We were here to see Bryan Ferry perform at the Fox Theatre (wow! see my review) and eat at Duende (wow! see my review) with some friends.

This hotel feels like a landmark. Old style with lots of wood, high ceiling, an old mahogany bar and a stained-glass skylight make you feel you've stepped back 75 years. Similar feelings as you head up the elevator (some wrought iron) and into your room (clanky air conditioner though made me feel like it hadn't been repaired for years).

This is still a restoration in progress it feels. Bar seems a little underwhelming and front desk seems at odds serivce-wise and decor-wise with rest of hotel.

It sits across from the Oakland convention center where if you have a car you will park it there for $15 (via hotel). Do not park on street, too many signs of broken windows.

The night we stayed was a Monday - no convention in town and no late nite music from nearby pub, no late night scene at the hotel bar. As a result we had a quiet, easy stay. My mind wondered what it might be like on a weekend or with a bunch of conventioneers in town -- might have gotten a little too crazy given its proximity to convention center, late nite spots, etc. May also be why we got a $100/night room too.

But if you're in town for a mid-week concert at the Fox or want to try some of Oaklands hot restaurants, this is a good choice to me.

Room Tip: Probably a room facing 10th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My typing may seem shaky due to the rock band playing at the pub across the parking lot. So loud in fact, I can barely hear my television (no exaggeration). It is midnight and they just stopped. Room is very average, hotel staff friendly enough but elevator and the rest is pretty sketchy. The Marriott is across the street for $30. per night more. We are moving tomorrow despite pre-paying for this room

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our 7-day stay by my wife and I and another couple were wonderful. Desk personnel were over the top courteous and pleasant, the rooms were clean and well managed, the food served during breakfast were more than expected and tasty. We look forward to visiting again and this time not necessarily for business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.