We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, There is a Marriott across the street.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Fairfield County, CT
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Relax, There is a Marriott across the street.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ok. If you are currently staying at this hotel. Take it easy. You have options. There is a Marriott across the street. Leave now and go to it. If you have yet to book your trip you are still in luck. You have time to figure out options. My friend and I reserved a room for two nights a Monday and a Tuesday. When we got in the hotel and room seemed nice enough, the elevetor was charming (read old, creeky, iron lacey and ventelated), the rooms looked clean, the lobby was open and there was no one in the hotel. My friend and I have extensive travel experience in Europe, South America, the Carribean and all over America. While we are checking in to our room someone at the front desk was informing the "manager" that some one from there hotel had called and needed there credit card information and expiration date and a charge had come up on his card for hundreds of dollars extra. He said the call came from inside and the caller knew his name and the name of the manager and front desk person. Wierd, we thought. As we checked in we used this elevator (see above) and were glad it had worked and got us to our floor. My friend did not step foot in the elevator the rest of the time. We got ready and walked to dinner to meet friends. Had a great meal and walked back to the hotel while. So it's Oakland downtown city center...there were tons of "homeless" people looking for money and the panhandling was some thing fierce. Made it past them and up to our rooms, via the stairs, and we get in to bed and the itching begins. I start under the covers, to on top of the sheet to on top of the comfeter to in the shower taking an alarmingly hot shower at about 5 or 6 am. We decide to leave and head over to the hotel accross the street. As we were leaving there were copied letters to each door that the staff of the Washington Inn would never call and ask for money and to please not give away information. While we were waiting in a very angry line of customers who had legit money concerns we tried to tell the front desk person that there were some kind of bugs in our bed and they needed to do something about it and it neede to be stopped. Lets give them the benefit of the doubt as they were swamped. But to take ten dollars off the cost of the next nights room as a convience just does not cut it. To put the charge thur for the next night, a night we were not staying in, was beyond the pale. Sure we did not give them 24 hours notice but we were at that front desk at about 7 in the morning. They could have turned over the room, fumigated it, changed sheets and moved mattresses in time for a afternoon check in for sure. Please don't stay here. You'd be better off staying at a KOA. Better service, better quality and more amenites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    39
    25
    28
See reviews for
22
38
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We came to the Bay area to visit friends and attend an event in SF, and stayed here three nights. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was excellent - always responsive and helpful. The free WIFI worked well. Breakfast was lacking but we found that of minor importance in a city with many options. BART is close by (1.5 blocks) as is Chinatown, and Jack London square. Large grocery store next door and may restaurants nearby, including a great brewery/pub just around the corner, behind the hotel. It is older but well-kept and quaint, has all that we need and less of the things we don't need. Loved the woodwork and the narrow, winding stairs. We would definitely stay at the Washington Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the Washington Inn for three nights from September 28 thru Oct 1, 2013. The hotel is quaint, clean, and stylish. The counter persons, were kind, courteous, helpful, and genuinely pleasant. Thomas went out of his way to address my concerns, ensured my reservation, and held a parking pass for me. Taran was equally as attentive and helpful as was the young man on the evening crew. Even the cleaning staff was overly accommodating. The suite(#406/nice view) was immaculate, reasonably priced at $114, and the air conditioner was full blast cold. The shower, toilet, and the carpet had no visible stains and the bed and bath linen were pristine and clean. There was a minifrig, a microwave, an iron and ironing board, a sofa, and desk and chair. As for the cable lineup, it was more than adequate and the internet worked fine (could be a little faster, but hey, it was free). The continental breakfast (muffins, cereal, orange juice, coffee, toast) was tasty and fresh, each day.

For some of the bad reviews I've read on the hotel, nothing could be further from the truth. The staff obviously takes pride in the hotel and it shows. Take it from me....this place is centrally located, professionally staffed, reasonably priced, and exudes a certain charm that put me in the mind of an old Parisian hotel. I simply can't say enough. I will stay here ever time I visit the Bay Area and recommend it to friends and family, for both business and pleasure.

As for the neighborhood area, its no more the Washington Inn's problem than it is the Marriott, which is on the same street. Be smart, attentive, and safe whatever city you're visiting, and you'll enjoy your stay. Oakland is no different from San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles, or Atlanta, it's full of people and characters of every type and not without it problems or unique charm. The Washington Inn is a gem, don't miss out by staying at the larger hotel chains.....you simply would have paid too much.

Brian Hall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was in Oakland for a group event and all of the group rooms at the Marriott were sold out so my friend and I opted for the Washington Inn since it is right across the street from the Marriott. I had read the reviews and knew it was not great and it is not. It is OK but I would not stay here again. It is an old hotel. We were on the second floor with a room that looked out on an small roof and other rooms. The room ventilation is poor and we had to keep the old wooden double hung window open. The room was dimly lit and neither the desk or bedside table lights worked. The safe did not work. I reported these problems to the front desk and they said they would be repaired. After 3 nights, they were still not working.
The room did have a small fridge and there is a grocery store right next door. The sheets, towels and bathroom were all clean but all of the other surfaces seemed worn and grungy. The walls all needed paint and furniture was well worn and rubbed. The room was quite small for two double beds, reminded me of a NY hotel.. There is a set of old stairs from the lobby to the second floor that is open to the lobby. All three nights we were there, they had functions in the lobby/bar/restaurant. The noise from these functions was very loud on the second floor due to the open staircase. On the good news side, they have a good breakfast in the lobby and the BART stop is right around the corner. There is a good brewpub right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The reception of the hotel is quite dark and a little dated, but it does have character, but the rooms are more modern and up to date. Fridge & coffee perculator are included in the rooms.
It's easy to get to Bart 12th st station is a 2 minute walk and it's a 5-10 minute walk to Jack London square, butthere's a free bus running up & down broadway all day between the square & north Oakland.
Cheaper than staying in the harbour & good location for touring around.
Only bit I didn't like was the lack of tables at breakfast and some of the noise from trains

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My 1st impression of the room was "wow it is small!. The decor is cute the bed comforter is so soft and comfortable. But it needs upkeep-like other reviewis I noticed a lot of scuffs on the walls-Just clean the walls and touchup withth the same color not some paint almost the same color! The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. The shower floor looks awful. Bathroom needs to be updated. The tv is old school and there is a VCR on top of the TV with an old tape stuck in it. The staff needs training in customer service in which they are lacking. You can see they spend $ on refurbishing the place just needs some TLC. Oh and there is no fitness room as advertised

Room Tip: Corner room is a lil bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was very spacious and charming. The best feature was its old historical floor to ceiling windows. It is about 100 years old and all of its old world character is so charming and unbelievably modern considering its age. The elevator is sooo shabby chic! It was reminiscent of a small French elevator. The value is incomparable and we slept like babies! We are very hard to please as we have a tempurpedic bed at home. To my surprise, they have fresh coffee in the morning, cereal, and basic white toast. Just enough to get your day started and off to a real breakfast! This is the place to stay during a vacation. If you are looking for a hot breakfast, a gym, or pool, this is not the place for you. On the downside, they only have one staff available and hotel is kinda left unmanned during the night if the hotel staff (1) is busy taking care of a customer. I did see a vagrant walk in to use the restroom. I must say that the young lady who was there on the 14th and 15th worked very hard to help everyone. The manager seemed to sit and watch. However, it was the best bang for my buck! Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.