We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington Inn-AWESOME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Save Saved
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“Washington Inn-AWESOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the Washington Inn for three nights from September 28 thru Oct 1, 2013. The hotel is quaint, clean, and stylish. The counter persons, were kind, courteous, helpful, and genuinely pleasant. Thomas went out of his way to address my concerns, ensured my reservation, and held a parking pass for me. Taran was equally as attentive and helpful as was the young man on the evening crew. Even the cleaning staff was overly accommodating. The suite(#406/nice view) was immaculate, reasonably priced at $114, and the air conditioner was full blast cold. The shower, toilet, and the carpet had no visible stains and the bed and bath linen were pristine and clean. There was a minifrig, a microwave, an iron and ironing board, a sofa, and desk and chair. As for the cable lineup, it was more than adequate and the internet worked fine (could be a little faster, but hey, it was free). The continental breakfast (muffins, cereal, orange juice, coffee, toast) was tasty and fresh, each day.

For some of the bad reviews I've read on the hotel, nothing could be further from the truth. The staff obviously takes pride in the hotel and it shows. Take it from me....this place is centrally located, professionally staffed, reasonably priced, and exudes a certain charm that put me in the mind of an old Parisian hotel. I simply can't say enough. I will stay here ever time I visit the Bay Area and recommend it to friends and family, for both business and pleasure.

As for the neighborhood area, its no more the Washington Inn's problem than it is the Marriott, which is on the same street. Be smart, attentive, and safe whatever city you're visiting, and you'll enjoy your stay. Oakland is no different from San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles, or Atlanta, it's full of people and characters of every type and not without it problems or unique charm. The Washington Inn is a gem, don't miss out by staying at the larger hotel chains.....you simply would have paid too much.

Brian Hall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    37
    23
    27
See reviews for
20
36
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was in Oakland for a group event and all of the group rooms at the Marriott were sold out so my friend and I opted for the Washington Inn since it is right across the street from the Marriott. I had read the reviews and knew it was not great and it is not. It is OK but I would not stay here again. It is an old hotel. We were on the second floor with a room that looked out on an small roof and other rooms. The room ventilation is poor and we had to keep the old wooden double hung window open. The room was dimly lit and neither the desk or bedside table lights worked. The safe did not work. I reported these problems to the front desk and they said they would be repaired. After 3 nights, they were still not working.
The room did have a small fridge and there is a grocery store right next door. The sheets, towels and bathroom were all clean but all of the other surfaces seemed worn and grungy. The walls all needed paint and furniture was well worn and rubbed. The room was quite small for two double beds, reminded me of a NY hotel.. There is a set of old stairs from the lobby to the second floor that is open to the lobby. All three nights we were there, they had functions in the lobby/bar/restaurant. The noise from these functions was very loud on the second floor due to the open staircase. On the good news side, they have a good breakfast in the lobby and the BART stop is right around the corner. There is a good brewpub right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The reception of the hotel is quite dark and a little dated, but it does have character, but the rooms are more modern and up to date. Fridge & coffee perculator are included in the rooms.
It's easy to get to Bart 12th st station is a 2 minute walk and it's a 5-10 minute walk to Jack London square, butthere's a free bus running up & down broadway all day between the square & north Oakland.
Cheaper than staying in the harbour & good location for touring around.
Only bit I didn't like was the lack of tables at breakfast and some of the noise from trains

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My 1st impression of the room was "wow it is small!. The decor is cute the bed comforter is so soft and comfortable. But it needs upkeep-like other reviewis I noticed a lot of scuffs on the walls-Just clean the walls and touchup withth the same color not some paint almost the same color! The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. The shower floor looks awful. Bathroom needs to be updated. The tv is old school and there is a VCR on top of the TV with an old tape stuck in it. The staff needs training in customer service in which they are lacking. You can see they spend $ on refurbishing the place just needs some TLC. Oh and there is no fitness room as advertised

Room Tip: Corner room is a lil bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was very spacious and charming. The best feature was its old historical floor to ceiling windows. It is about 100 years old and all of its old world character is so charming and unbelievably modern considering its age. The elevator is sooo shabby chic! It was reminiscent of a small French elevator. The value is incomparable and we slept like babies! We are very hard to please as we have a tempurpedic bed at home. To my surprise, they have fresh coffee in the morning, cereal, and basic white toast. Just enough to get your day started and off to a real breakfast! This is the place to stay during a vacation. If you are looking for a hot breakfast, a gym, or pool, this is not the place for you. On the downside, they only have one staff available and hotel is kinda left unmanned during the night if the hotel staff (1) is busy taking care of a customer. I did see a vagrant walk in to use the restroom. I must say that the young lady who was there on the 14th and 15th worked very hard to help everyone. The manager seemed to sit and watch. However, it was the best bang for my buck! Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been visiting Oakland, CA for work since 1990. The Washington Inn became a standard bunk place for my team and me. I continue to stay here because the price is right, I know the place and it is tolerable. The staff are barely competent, but they try hard; the lobby bar is abandoned most nights; the restaurant has never tempted me (dinner only) and the complimentary continental breakfast would be sumptuous...in a starving third world village. The rooms are clean, but there is a certain cringe factor that makes me tiptoe in the bathroom and keeps me from flopping on the bedspread. No pool, no gym, no business center, just a bed and a TV with a remote that might work. The bed is comfortable and the pillows are nice. The place would rank poor if it weren't for the value factor. My review is a bit harsh and I don't think you will hate the place, but having stayed here often those are my impressions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPont, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Contrary the info about this hotel, it does not have any work out facility. They offer you a discounted pass to a nearby gym. We walked around the hotel a bit at night, but I would not recommend that. If you do, walk toward and past the BART station entrance. The other way just gets seedier.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.