We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel & easy to get to” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Save Saved
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel & easy to get to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The reception of the hotel is quite dark and a little dated, but it does have character, but the rooms are more modern and up to date. Fridge & coffee perculator are included in the rooms.
It's easy to get to Bart 12th st station is a 2 minute walk and it's a 5-10 minute walk to Jack London square, butthere's a free bus running up & down broadway all day between the square & north Oakland.
Cheaper than staying in the harbour & good location for touring around.
Only bit I didn't like was the lack of tables at breakfast and some of the noise from trains

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    37
    22
    27
See reviews for
19
36
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eloy, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My 1st impression of the room was "wow it is small!. The decor is cute the bed comforter is so soft and comfortable. But it needs upkeep-like other reviewis I noticed a lot of scuffs on the walls-Just clean the walls and touchup withth the same color not some paint almost the same color! The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. The shower floor looks awful. Bathroom needs to be updated. The tv is old school and there is a VCR on top of the TV with an old tape stuck in it. The staff needs training in customer service in which they are lacking. You can see they spend $ on refurbishing the place just needs some TLC. Oh and there is no fitness room as advertised

Room Tip: Corner room is a lil bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was very spacious and charming. The best feature was its old historical floor to ceiling windows. It is about 100 years old and all of its old world character is so charming and unbelievably modern considering its age. The elevator is sooo shabby chic! It was reminiscent of a small French elevator. The value is incomparable and we slept like babies! We are very hard to please as we have a tempurpedic bed at home. To my surprise, they have fresh coffee in the morning, cereal, and basic white toast. Just enough to get your day started and off to a real breakfast! This is the place to stay during a vacation. If you are looking for a hot breakfast, a gym, or pool, this is not the place for you. On the downside, they only have one staff available and hotel is kinda left unmanned during the night if the hotel staff (1) is busy taking care of a customer. I did see a vagrant walk in to use the restroom. I must say that the young lady who was there on the 14th and 15th worked very hard to help everyone. The manager seemed to sit and watch. However, it was the best bang for my buck! Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been visiting Oakland, CA for work since 1990. The Washington Inn became a standard bunk place for my team and me. I continue to stay here because the price is right, I know the place and it is tolerable. The staff are barely competent, but they try hard; the lobby bar is abandoned most nights; the restaurant has never tempted me (dinner only) and the complimentary continental breakfast would be sumptuous...in a starving third world village. The rooms are clean, but there is a certain cringe factor that makes me tiptoe in the bathroom and keeps me from flopping on the bedspread. No pool, no gym, no business center, just a bed and a TV with a remote that might work. The bed is comfortable and the pillows are nice. The place would rank poor if it weren't for the value factor. My review is a bit harsh and I don't think you will hate the place, but having stayed here often those are my impressions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPont, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Contrary the info about this hotel, it does not have any work out facility. They offer you a discounted pass to a nearby gym. We walked around the hotel a bit at night, but I would not recommend that. If you do, walk toward and past the BART station entrance. The other way just gets seedier.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well, one of the first hints that this hotel has some issues should be the fact that you walk in the room and there is a VCR. It is, in a word, obsolete. It is a place to sleep if you need it, right in the heart of downtown Oakland. That comes with some pluses and minuses. Very convenient to some of the newer, more chic restaurants. It is close to the BART and easily accessible by the airport. It is also close to old school Oakland, CA including many of the Asian restaurants and some social centers of the Asian American community. The walls were thin and you could hear the boom of the Irish bar next door. Luckily, the night life is lacking and the sounds did not go past 8 or 9pm. The actual hotel is just okay. Avoid the very old and rickety elevator when you can. The rooms are small yet sufficient. The bathrooms are European style. Toilet and shower in the bathroom. Sink on the outside. Toilet did not flush well. The doors do not spring like most conventional hotels, meaning that I saw many doors ajar because people had not been intentional enough about closing them. The hotel offers a continental that consists of day-old pastries, weak coffee, and coffee-flavored tea. It is good for your morning toast. There is a weak internet connection, but no business cetner or printing services. Seeing as I was there for business, this was a bit of a problem. The beds were comfortable. The TV was barely watchable and like the old VCR, there was an older tube TV. I only stayed there, because someone paid my way. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Tell them to keep you away from the bars. Walls are thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had booked a different motel in Alameda for our stay in the SF area, but upon arrival we found it was overbooked so we were sent here, as it was co-owned with the Alameda motel.

If you are expecting perfection, you'll be disappointed. There were scuff marks on the walls of our room. The small refrigerator was quite efficient in freezing milk overnight. The TV reception was hit and miss, with different channel line-ups on the two TVs in our room.

But we didn't come to California to watch TV. We needed a good night's sleep at a reasonable rate, and that's exactly what we got. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean and quiet, save from some street noise. If you needed a nice breeze, you could open the solid Pella windows with ease. And, you won't feel claustrophobic with the room's nine foot ceilings.

The elevator car appears to be original to the place, with a woven steel basketweave ceiling exposing the inside of the elevator shaft. It wasn't perfect but it sure was fun! All it needed was a real, live elevator operator to replace the retrofitted control panel to complete the 1920's vibe.

Staff at the Washington were accomodating, and waived our $15/night parking fees since our Alameda motel parking would have been free. Even if we had to pay for the parking, it would have been worth it. The BART subway station was only a couple of blocks away.

This would be a very workable home base for a Bay area visit, without the spendy San Francisco rates.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.