We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Save Saved
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Canon City, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had booked a different motel in Alameda for our stay in the SF area, but upon arrival we found it was overbooked so we were sent here, as it was co-owned with the Alameda motel.

If you are expecting perfection, you'll be disappointed. There were scuff marks on the walls of our room. The small refrigerator was quite efficient in freezing milk overnight. The TV reception was hit and miss, with different channel line-ups on the two TVs in our room.

But we didn't come to California to watch TV. We needed a good night's sleep at a reasonable rate, and that's exactly what we got. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean and quiet, save from some street noise. If you needed a nice breeze, you could open the solid Pella windows with ease. And, you won't feel claustrophobic with the room's nine foot ceilings.

The elevator car appears to be original to the place, with a woven steel basketweave ceiling exposing the inside of the elevator shaft. It wasn't perfect but it sure was fun! All it needed was a real, live elevator operator to replace the retrofitted control panel to complete the 1920's vibe.

Staff at the Washington were accomodating, and waived our $15/night parking fees since our Alameda motel parking would have been free. Even if we had to pay for the parking, it would have been worth it. The BART subway station was only a couple of blocks away.

This would be a very workable home base for a Bay area visit, without the spendy San Francisco rates.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    37
    23
    27
See reviews for
19
36
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't come to Oakland that often and when I do I always stay at the Washington Inn. Very slick, cozy updated rooms, like the ones found in san Francisco. Its a boutique hotel close to many amazing restaurants and local transport. The Hotel provides a scrumptious breakfast that will you get started for the day. The staff is very friendly, the bed is clean comfortable with down sheet and pillow. Loved it ! recommend it !

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the restaurants are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at this Inn for one night while in town for a meeting. On the plus side, it was cheap and saved taxpayer money. The location was close to the convention center and good restaurants. There was free wifi. On the negative side, it was worn, the bed linens and carpets were stained, there were scuffs all over the walls, broken tiles in the elevator and bathroom, and the lobby was dark and uninviting. The breakfast was sparse and there was nowhere to sit except the lobby so all the chairs were full. The doorlock and sliding card mechanism required a PhD to figure out. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel unless you are on a really tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My room was comfortable, the bed was comfortable, and of the four pillows on the bed, one was exactly right for me, which I almost never find in a hotel, even when I ask for a thin pillow. I opened my window for fresh air and the street below was quiet after 10:30 p.m.

The front desk staff and waitresses were all very friendly. The two evenings I was there the dining room and bar were busy, some of the bar patrons watching an NBA finals game, and all evening there was a guy at the piano playing old tunes. It was a very nice and very enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Old hotel with nice little rooms. Great location across from the convention center and within walking distance of restaurants and clubs. There is a bar in the middle of the lobby. Restaurant and room service were not available on the weekend. The rooms were clean and had refrigerators, safes, and the usual amenities. The continental breakfast was only available until 9AM (advertised 9:30 in the information book in the rooms) No fruit, just cereals and bread products.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was comfy , cozy, and cheap. Highly reccommended!!!!!!!!! The breakfast is sparse but it is near a supermarket and great bars like the Trappist restaurant. Trappist has good Belgian food and beer!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For the price, this hotel is pretty bad. Its main value is probably as a spillover for the Convention Centre visitors.
I stayed here for 2 nights using it mainly as a resting place for the night.
The rooms are clean, but small. The view out is not what you would pay for. The linen is not too clean, and the room was not cleaned properly on the second day.
The sink is outside in the main room outside the bathroom - an efficient use of space, but not enough space to set up 2 suitcases.
The shower stall is roomy.
The tiny elevator is fun to ride, you can look up the shaft through openings in its ceiling.
Breakfast is continental - minimal and cold.
The person manning the front desk seemed quite jittery.
Location of hotel is good and safe.
There are better options around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.