We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Save Saved
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For the price, this hotel is pretty bad. Its main value is probably as a spillover for the Convention Centre visitors.
I stayed here for 2 nights using it mainly as a resting place for the night.
The rooms are clean, but small. The view out is not what you would pay for. The linen is not too clean, and the room was not cleaned properly on the second day.
The sink is outside in the main room outside the bathroom - an efficient use of space, but not enough space to set up 2 suitcases.
The shower stall is roomy.
The tiny elevator is fun to ride, you can look up the shaft through openings in its ceiling.
Breakfast is continental - minimal and cold.
The person manning the front desk seemed quite jittery.
Location of hotel is good and safe.
There are better options around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    39
    22
    27
See reviews for
19
36
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a quain hotel, the room was small (not enough vanity space) but clean and pleasant. The problem was the party rented out on Saturday night. We were on the fourth (highest) floor and the noise went on for hours, both inside and out. Even worse was the attitude of the desk clerk in the morning. Apparently, our displeasure was quite amusing. I will never stay there again and recommend that you avoid it if you actually want to get what you pay for: sleep and respectful staff.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't have parties booked at night in the lobby, although I have a feeling that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPont, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My sister and I chose this hotel based on pictures and descriptions on their website. Nothing ever looks quite as good in real life. The hotel is old and somewhat charming. The rooms are very small. The hide-a-bed couches are horrible. On the weekend the pub below and next door emits noise and music that makes it impossible to sleep, think or talk until it closes - maybe at 2 a.m. The shower in our room drained very slowly. By the end of a shower were several inches of standing water in the enclosure and it took about 30 minutes to drain. The hotel discounted our stay slightly because of the awful noise. We never did get to eat in the restaurant or order room service because the hours of service were very limited. If you stay and want to walk around go toward the BART station and keep walking. The other direction is not very good for safe excursions. We had an ok time, but I don't think we would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the side above the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Washington Inn is exactly what it says it is, a very traditional hotel which has been completely modernized, while retaining its period look. In this case, location is everything if you want to be in the center of "Old Oakland", which is right next to Chinatown. The hotel is clean, well-managed and quite friendly. There is a small breakfast buffet each morning, enough to get you started.
Just around the corner and down the street is a very special wine bar, "District". Across the street from them is a very nice Italian restaurant, "Borgo Italia Bar & Caffe" [499 9th Street]. Both are worth a trip.
I like the Washington Inn very much, and having metered parking available just across the street was a real plus, too

Room Tip: If you';re a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel, as the street noises ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had to attend a conference held at the Oakland Convention Center and the hotel was immediately across the street from the Center. Much less expensive than the Oakland Marriott City Center or the Courtyard by Marriott, both of which are nearby. Chinatown is just around the corner and the City Center/12th St. Bart Station was 1/2 block away, which made for quick Bart getaways into San Francisco since Oakland is dead after sundown. This made the area feel sketchy at night, but that is not the fault of the hotel, that is an image problem Oakland has to deal with.

This is a budget hotel that tries to be a boutique hotel, but the age of the building, the compact size of the rooms and the quirkiness of things like pedestal sinks in the sleeping area, as a need for some TLC, causes me to give this hotel only a 3 star rating. Some touch up paint on the walls, fix the room safes so that they can be used (Raj said it has been 4 weeks since the safes have not been fixed), and a fix to my bathroom light (which kept turning off every few minutes and then would go back on). Time to also invest in new flat screen TVs.

Raj, the manager on duty when I checked in, could not have been more helpful or accomodating. I arrived early and he assigned me Room 415 on the top floor. The elevator was not working, so I lugged my suitcase up the narrow stairs and Raj was very apologetic. Room 415 is a regular room, not a suite, but I think it was one of the larger rooms (based on the emergency exit floorplan layout on the door).

The photos on the Hotel website accurately portrayed my assigned room, sans the vase of flowers. Bed was comfortable. Lighting was a bit dim, but OK for me, perhaps not for others. Would I stay here again? Yes, but only to attend another Oakland conference and when traveling solo (rooms are compact and OK for one, but not for two).

Room Tip: Room 415 is slightly roomier and quiet away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here again this President's weekend. I do believe some reviews are unusually harsh. The rooms are tiny - could not last a week but for a night or two it's ok. I Really enjoy how close it is to the convention center - way closer than if you stayed at the Marriott. Our room was clean, but some items are showing it's wear. Check in was easy and the front desk was personnel was very nice. It is close to Bart and Jack London Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had been to The Celebrator Magazines Micro-Brew party at the convention center a few years ago having stayed at the Marriots connected to it. From our room we could look across the street and see this old hotel. So this trip to the event we booked the Washington Inn Hotel. It was built in 1913 as a saloon, then a bank, then the hotel. The elevator must be original, I think it's the oldest I have ever been in and we really enjoyed the old cage going up and down, you can see all the workings overhead. The room was very nice, still some old charm as well as upgrades. I made the reservation, then read the reviews, our experience was all pleasant and we would definately stay here again. The only downfall was the breakfast, minimal, no fruit, no tables, just chairs and ottomans to put your plate on. This place is also directly next door to Pacific Coast Brewing.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, two windows were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.