We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thank you” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Washington Inn to your Saves list
The Washington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
fargo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Thank you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel doesn't look anything like you see in the picture. Not a clean hotel, No internet,No Towels in the room, and breakfast? They can eat that. As you can see i am not a complainer but I will pich a tent before I will ever stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    45
    28
    29
See reviews for
29
42
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I almost feel bad writing the review because I think the staff was nice enough and it's clear that none of them have it in their means to correct the shortcomings. The service was fine, and in the right hands this quaint spot could really be cool. Unfortunately, as soon as you enter there's a musty smell that fills the air. The elevator is so old and beaten that we only took it once in either direction. The rooms are small, very European, which would be fine, but the beds are deplorable, and I actually considered NOT showering because the tile was more mildew than grout. The shower head didn't work, the toilet didn't flush properly, the mildew around the windows and shower were unbelievable. It COULD be charming, but someone needs to bring in an operator, put some money into the beds and finish work, and make an experience out of a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Washington Inn was clean and friendly and affordable. It was in the middle between Oakland city Center and delicious local restaurants. The rooms were updated but tight. Comfortable bed! Also, the hotel was in easy walking distance to the BART rail and to Oakland's Chinatown, and the main street, Broadway. WE had easy access to a pharmacy, grocery store, banks and shopping. The best is we could easily walk to the waterfront and enjoy all that had to offer. The historic feel of the hotel was its charm. The free breakfast was not very good and we opted to eat breakfast out. However, if all you need is a cup of coffee and a danish, you will be fine. If you have trouble taking stairs, this is NOT the hotel for you. the elevator is very tight and the stairs are steep. We like taking stairs so it was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: the corner rooms facing 10th St and Broadway are too noisy. Also, I recommend using the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights and whilst the hotel seems to live on delegates to the Conference Centre who cannot or do not wish to afford the Marriot's rates across the road it is a less than civilised place to stay. Raj and his staff need to awaken themselves to the needs of international guests. Key points to improve are
Breakfast - currently taken on your knees in the foyer when there is a restaurant space which could be opened to allow for a civilised breakfast experience.
Lift - whilst quaint it desperately needs a new floor covering - it is grubby.
Room safes - after some searching questions it was admitted that these had been out of operation for 3 + weeks. No hotel safe was offered - wholly unacceptable situation
Telephones - staff did not know whether international calls could be made from room phones or how to do that if they could. CRAZY position even in parochial USA.
The Indian owners need to put some modest investment into the hotel which once improved could have a higher room rate to pay for the investment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

When I'm in the East Bay, I frequently find myself at the Washington Inn. It's very convenient to BART, convention center, bars and restaurants in downtown Oakland. The staff is very friendly and helpful, The hotel is clean, comfortable and you can't beat the price. I've stayed here several times and have always had a good experience. The staff will print out your boarding passes for you and give you tips on parking. Nice hotel bar in the lobby. Fairly quiet for an urban setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel while we were in Oakland for a short weekend visit in June 2012. We needed something that was relatively close to the airport, but still within the city.

We booked through Expedia and reserved a Deluxe room with two double beds. When we checked in, the front desk said the room we reserved was not available, and gave us two Standard Queen rooms instead. I was a little annoyed with this, as we were traveling with our children, and this meant they would be sleeping in a different room than us (in this case, across the hall, and not connected to our room). I'm not sure if this was an error on Washington Inn's part, or Expedia's part, though, so I can't fully blame the hotel for this mix-up. Also, we were able to get the room we wanted the second night of our stay..

Aside from the room mix-up, I was mostly satisfied with our stay. The rooms were clean and well-kept. The decor was classy, with somewhat of a historic feel. The beds were very comfortable, and although there was an event going on in the banquet room downstairs, we did not hear the noise once we got to our room. We did not hear much street noise except in the morning the next day when there was some kind of conference going on at the Marriott across the street.

Breakfast was included with our stay, but it was the standard Continental breakfast options such as cereal, bagels, danishes, muffins, and orange juice. I liked that the location is just fifteen minutes away from the Oakland airport. Also, the room prices fell right within our budget for the trip. However, parking is not included, so we had to pay for parking on the street.

I would say for the price we paid for our room, we had an average experience overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I chose to stay here and save money. My parents stayed at the Marriott which is right next door. No problems at all. Cozy and Friendly. People complaining about outside noise that can happen at any place. I was on the 2nd floor and had no problems. Actually haven't slept that well in awhile. The hotel can't control outside noise you will have that everywhere. Breakfast was good had a good variety. This place fills up fast so book ahead.

Room Tip: Book ahead this place fills up fast becuase it is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.