We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA - Save Up to 10% Off
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, California
1 review
“A Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I really enjoy staying at this hotel. The location is great, centrally located near Bay Area attractions. The staff is always courteous. They greet you with a smile and by name. They offer continental breakfast and sometimes dinner with wine which is quite convenient for those of us who travel on business. I highly recommend Homewood Oakland Waterfront if you enjoy a clean room, courteous staff, with a nice view and a great location.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    163
    43
    36
    22
See reviews for
154
121
38
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This hotel was great. The staff was amazing. I couldn't believe how delicious breakfast and diffent was. This helped to save a ton of money. Large lobby, perfect for hanging out with friends. Good size rooms that were always clean. Not to far from Jack loundon, a bart station in Oakland or alameda. Nice view of one of the many harbors. I might also add that the sales team was very helpful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

After a fashion event down town Oakland some friends and I stayed here @ Homewood and may I say the waterfront view alone was awesome like I was on an island. The hotel was clean and well kept. All of the staff was welcoming, kind and attentive and the young lady, Darcella Wright, she must have been an Executive of some sort, she went above and beyond to make sure we were comfy and satisfied. She just took charge and was very efficient. Catered out for food and beverages and the customer service was great. A couple of my guest chose to extend their stay. The only recommendation is to get shuttle service to the airport in the near future. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This was my second stay at this property and again very nice and attentive staff. The rooms are typical Homewood - but you must ask for a waterview room (it will cost more) if you want any peace and quiet. the non-water rooms face the highway - maybe 30 yeards away and it is loud 24/7.

Still no wifi in the rooms and the ethernet connection is very slow. Didnt eat dinner in the hotel - free food looked a little iffy - but breakfast was on par with other HHonors hotels in this price range. location is great for meetings in Oakland and the aiports. Would definitely stay there again if water side rooms are available

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

2 bedroom suite with full kitchen, livingroom, balcony, 2 full baths. Nice comfortable beds. Hideaway couch in livingroom. There were 4 adults and 15 girls and we had a blast! There was enough room for everyone to spread out and have a really good time. Front desk personnel was extremely helpful and the complimentary breakfast worked for a gorup of 19! We plan to make this an annual event and Homewood Suites in Oakland is where we'll stay!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Looking for the definition of customer service? You’ll find it here. Since I discovered this hotel back in 2009, I have been coming back repeatedly and bringing with me co-workers and company VIPs. The staff goes out of their way to make sure I and my guests are always comfortable and well taken care of. When you add all the amenities that other hotels charge for to the base room rate you realize the value in staying at Homewood Suites Oakland. There is no other place I would stay when I am in the Oakland area. I tried a couple of other hotels and was really disappointed with the add-on charges for parking, internet and so on. This is my home away from home. And best of all I get Hilton Honors credit on top of it. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I arrived tired and done. The staff put a glass of wine in my hand as I waited to check in. The fire was roaring in the lounge area and I was sipping on wine and I wasn't even checked in yet. The room was wonderful, great pillows and comfy bed with living room and kitchenette. Nice accomodations. Since it is along side the 880 freeway if traffic noise is an issue for you ask for water side for $20 more. It doesn't matter to me. I hope I have overnight business that way again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.