We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The entire building vibrates from the freeway traffic, which can be heard and felt even on the marina side. The hotel is located no where near anything, the rooms were out of date for a Hilton family property, and the bed was uncomfortable. We were supposed to stay two nights but left after the first night.

  • Liked — Complimentary Wi-fi
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    138
    33
    26
    19
See reviews for
128
100
34
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

This is a clean hotel with friendly staff located not too far from San Francisco across the bridge to Oakland. We chose to stay here while visiting San Francisco. The toll to SF is $4. Parking each day in SF ran about $15-25 for the day. The breakfast included eggs, bread items, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. During the week, they offer a light snack such a taquitos and then beer and wine. This hotel is pretty isolated with no restaurants close-by. The waterfront side of the hotel is very pretty, but the other side is a noisy highway.

When we made the reservation, we called the hotel to specifically ask if the outdoor pool was currently open and heated. They were purposely deceptive and said the pool was heated and useable. What they purposely left out was that it did not open until May. After we checked in, we inquired why the pool was locked. The front desk lady laughingly repeated the deceptive answer we were given and said it is useable, but not until May. By the way, it is a small pool.

The only other problem we encountered was the noise from above. The person above us did not appear to sleep and we heard them moving around all night. So, make sure you request and verify an upper floor room by the water to enjoy this hotel.

  • Liked — Cost, full refrigerator/microwave
  • Disliked — Pool closed, no eateries close
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

The staff was great, the place was clean, and the marina side of the property was pleasant. But be forwarned that a "city view" means that you are just accross the street from I-880, and the traffic noise just does not stop. And neither does the train traffic. Avoid "city view" rooms unless you a) are a sound sleeper, b) pop an Ambien before bed, or c) pack earplugs.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Proximity to freeway and train tracks
  • Tips/Secrets — Stick with the marina view
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

We recently had a family gathering over the weekend and held it at this hotel. Everyone from our family (about 80 of us) stayed here and I didn't hear any complaints! The staff were very accomodating, friendly and professional, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were VERY clean, the breakfast was incredible, and the service, as I stated before, was great. We enjoyed every part of our 4 day stay in Oakland, and would stay here again. We did have a waterfront view, which was absolutely beautiful, and the rooms were huge. There is nothing about this hotel that I would change. If you are thinking about staying here, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Very clean hotel, courteous staff, good food, good location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place to stay!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

yuck - please dont stay here - the room had a broken mirror - the AC did not work and the hotel back faced the container storage yard and the front of the hotel was 10 feet away from the freeway and the oakland railway tracks. its horrible - i could not sleep at night.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

The setting of this hotel really deserves four, or even five circles. However, there were some dramatic problems that should be resolved in short order.
Check-in was great ... the clerk was really happy that I was able to assist her in getting her Spanish speaking maintenance man to complete a chore. She went out of her way in trying to accomodate my request to be on the water - rather than the street - side. (Although I actually felt that this should have been automatic, given that I am a Diamond level HH member).No worries there, it was done.
The breakfast was above average, and the employees manning the area were cheerful.
Now comes the main issue - it is the Saturday before Easter. We return to the room about 9:30 PM after having been out since ten in the morning. The room was not serviced AT ALL. The bed was not made, the towels were not replaced, nothing, nada, zip.
We called down to try and get some clean towels (at least), and were told that the housekeepers had gone home. (??!??). What? No 24-hour staffing? Come on, this is a Hilton property in a major metropolitan area! That corner just can't be cut.
Just after we had a maintenance fellow come up with a couple of towels for a quick shower, and some slumber - the fire alarm went off. (I realize that is not the property's fault, but a courtesy apology would have been welcome).
We checked out fairly early on Easter Sunday, and headed for Colorado Springs. From there, I called Shelly Moranville (the GM of the Oakland property) first thing on Monday morning. She did not return my calls, and I finally managed to get a hold of her, via the front desk staff, late in the afternoon. Ms. Moranville explained that she had been out of town the previous week (doesn't that mean that she leaves a competent second-in-command at the helm?), and that possibly some things had not been properly attended to (ya THINK?)
She said that housekeeping had experienced some sick calls, and that some rooms hadn't been serviced. Matter-of-fact, no apologies. I was flabbergasted. In lieu of the Hilton Guarantee (i.e. refund on one night's stay) she magnanimously offered us another weekend night. The jury is still out.
In summary, the property is nice, but the management has taken a minimalist approach to staffing - and it shows.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

Stayed at the Homewood while visiting family and it was great! We had a one bedroom "suite" - there is nothing separating the "bedroom" from the sitting area, but the room is spacious and lovely. Very comfortable with a walkout to a nice walking path along the marina. The staff was extremely helpful - moved us to a waterfront room upon request. The breakfast was quite good, changed a little bit each day - and the nightly cocktail hour (wine, beer) was a nice touch! The lobby is very homey - the view is nice -and the convenience to the highway can't be beat. Overall, a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.