We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Package
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convenient and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

I recently stayed there with my husband and two friends. We booked a two bedroom suite. Our checkin was prompt and we were pleased to get a suite on the waterfront side - the views were wonderful. Location was great since we were going to an event at the Oakland Arena, and the freeway on ramp was right in front of the hotel. In the morning we had an enjoyable time eating our breakfast outside on the waterfront - great way to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    150
    38
    32
    21
See reviews for
143
111
35
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

We've just returned from 4 nights at the Homewood Suites, Oakland. We found the facilities & food great and the staff very helpful. We did have a problem one night with the courtesy bus being 45 minutes late picking us up but it was fine every other time. Our room had a great view overlooking the waterfront. The front of the hotel overlooks the freeway - ugly and noisy so make sure you request waterfront suite.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

The room was clean but that's about it! This hotel is right on the highway and we had a room facing it - the traffic noise and vibration was constant - even at the wee hours of the night! We also thought the beds and pillows were substandard - not comfortable at all. If you want to sleep don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2005

I was a little concerned about booking at the Homewood after reading the two most recent reviews. However, upon entering the lobby I breathed a sigh of relief. The lobby was cozy, warm and inviting with a fire burning in the fireplace. Much nicer than I had expected. The front desk staff were professional, courteous and helpful. We had a room in the main building facing the marina. It was peaceful and relaxing. The other side of the property faces the freeway. Our room was clean and well maintained. The continental breakfast was standard but the buttermilk biscuits and gravy were a surprise! The serving and eating areas were clean. Jack London Square is a quick and easy drive (about a mile) from the property. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we return to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Oakland Waterfront Homewood Suites from October 14 through October 23, 2004. Homewood Suites has been our first choice hotel for the past several years. The Oakland hotel does not measure up to the ususal standards set by this chain. The food service area where the breakfast and evening reception is held was usually filthy. The breakfast was uninspired, the coffee cold and the urns were often empty, they frequently ran out of cream, only served no-fat milk for the cereal, the utensils and toasters were greasy and dirty and the microwave looked as though the interior had never, ever been cleaned! The staff seemed very miffed and indignant if you brought any of these problems to their attention. The food served at the evening reception was comical -- inedible! We had problems getting our telephone activated once we checked into the room. It took four calls over three hours to finally get the phone operational. Although high speed internet is offered as a free perk, the hotel literature indicates that there is a daily charge for the service. It was only after my wife spoke with another guest at the laundry on the sixth day of our trip that we discovered that there was no charge for the high speed service! The rooms are clean and spacious and the bayside rooms have a lovely view. We found the corridors of the hotel though to be damp and musty and emanating an unpleasant odor -- they need to be aired daily. The lobby is charming and comfortable and the outdoor patio overlooking the harbor is great. We found the proximaty to the highway a big plus and we were not bothered by any highway or railroad noise. The value in the room rate is undeniably excellent. Homewood is a great chain and this hotel has great potential but some very simple changes need to be made -- clean up the food service area, fill up and heat up the coffee urns, correct the in-room internet literature and give the staff some "people skills" training.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2004

The room was very nice, spacious, and clean, but the hotel is located by a major highway and railroad tracks. If you're a light sleeper, I suggest that you get a room on the marina side. The breakfast wasn't up to par with those served at other Homewood Suites that I've stayed at. Also, the staff wasn't very friendly and didn't know if there were any fast food places in the area.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2003

Shhhh....keep this between you and me. The best hotel, especially for an extended stay, is Homewood by Hilton. Ask for a waterfront room (they face the sailboats). Breakfast is served in the morning and be sure to try the beer on tap in the evening.

You've got your choice of a suite or one-bed. The suite should suffice as they are very large, with kitchenette and living area.

When making a reservation, ask for P.J. And when your there, tell Robert he's working to hard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.