We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with easy access to San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA - Save Up to 10% Off
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with easy access to San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is located next to a marina. One side has a great view, the other side faces the expressway. I was on the expressway side which is cheaper but never had a problem sleeping due to noise. A self-serve breakfast is included with the room. Also, dinner Monday-Thursday. Not great food but one can't beat the price. Management went out of its way to made sure the guests were comfortable. My room also included a small frig and microwave.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share with our cook on other items that could help with the selections. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    160
    43
    36
    22
See reviews for
154
119
38
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The setting of this Homewood Suites is outstanding! Our stay was just like we were at a friends home. The staff were very friendly and took great care of our group. We have stayed at this Homewood Suites 4 times and every stay is just as good as the last. We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites. I’m glad we were able to make you feel at home! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. Continue to come back and visit.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall a very good experience. Very nice hotel locate in a remote area and you will need a rental car to go anywhere. We are from NJ and we stayed 7 nights to visit friends and relatives in SF. We put in quite a few miles on the rental car and paid many tolls crossing the brand new bay bridge due to the location of this hotel. There was always plenty of parking space at the hotel and finding parking space downtown was also easy but expensive. Street meter charges $2 per hour for max one hour limit. There was a problem with our reservations. We had asked for two adjacent rooms on the third floor next to the elevator. We were there with my wife's elderly and somewhat handicap parents and we need to take care of them. All was prearranged a month in advantage and confirmed by telephone calls to the hotel several times prior to our arrival. However, when we got there, the clerk gave us one room on the third floor and one room on the second floor. After complaining to the clerk, the manager came out to help solve our problem. We sat in the lobby for half an hour waiting for the result and was finally offered two adjacent rooms on the second floor but quite a distance from the elevator. We accepted it nevertheless. Then I went down to ask for a simple disposable plastic shaver and was told I need to buy one off their shelf for $1. This and other simple toiletry items are complimentary at other hotels I had stayed in. After paying much more to stay in this Hilton Hotel, I find this charge cheap and tacky. We did not use the outdoor pool because it was chilly the week we were there. Exercise room has only three pieces of equipment but is usually available. There is a waterfront trail about one mile long but not continuously connected. You have to use the street sidewalk through some area. The included breakfast and dinners were excellent. We only tried dinner once due to scheduling (starts at 5 PM and finish by 7 PM), and that one dinner was excellent. It was Salisbury Steak with potato and veggie, free beer and wine, and other stuff. The hot breakfast was enough to let us skip lunch couple times. However, during one morning, there was a stranger (not a hotel guest) sat next to me at the business center and he told me he lives nearby, got drunk last night, needed coffee in the morning, asked me if they check hotel keys when going in for breakfast. I told him they do not check, and he proceeded to go get a heaping plate of breakfast to eat at his computer, then fell asleep with his head on the desk. I found that totally unacceptable. I reported that to the front desk and eventually he was escorted out of the hotel. What disturbed me the most was the fact that I caught the hotel security guard hiding in the first floor men's room making cell phone calls three different times during one morning (before I went jogging, after I came back, and after breakfast). That does not make me feel safe and I don't like people taking advantage of the system. Overall, it was a comfortable stay and we will certain come back again if the rate stays the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There are few hotels in Oakland. Homewood Suites was very welcoming although not cheap as a hotel. Its very isolated if you don't have a car. The Mon-Thurs complementary meal with drinks was very welcome, although the beer ran out by Thursday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were charged for smoking in our room when we do not smoke. W have not smoked for 17 years. Not sure how they determine that you smoked in the room when it did not happen. Then charged us an extra $200.00

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I would like to apologies for any inconvenience during your stay with us. After looking over your reservations it shows you were in a waterside studio suite and you were not charged for smoking in the room. The charge on your credit card was just the room and tax. Please fill free to call me if you have any questions.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We has 2 bedrooms (interconnecting rooms) Beds were comfortable and clean. Kitchen was spacious but we never really used it. Breakfast is also included and the selection although not a full buffet is a good start to the day. Staff here were also extremely helpful especially front desk and shuttle service drivers. Free shuttle operates regularly to take you down to the Oakland ferry terminal or BART. We didn't use the pool but it looked lareg and well maintained as were the grounds with nice views out over the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose the waterview side, and loved every minute of it! Pink clouds in the morning and red sky in the evening. We loved the bugle playing in the morning and in the evening for the flag ceremony of the military compound across the water. Loved the view of the boats right under our window. Great bed, lovely pool, great people. A great complementary breakfast with eggs, pastry, sausages, waffles. We had to stick to fruit, cereals and coffee because we are vegan. Our third stay there, definitively our favorite place when in Oakland!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.