We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location outside SF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location outside SF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found this hotel to be in a great location outside of SF and worth the money since we found that most hotels within SF had upped their prices due to the Americas Cup and IT Convention. I would recommend this hotel as its clean, comfortable and has friendly reception staff. As well as a great choice of cold or hot breakfast, plus during the weekdays they provide you with an evening meal and drinks! What more can you ask for! Alternatively, there is a restaurant called Quinns just down the road. We would also recommend catching the ferry from Jack London Square. The nearby car park is free if you validate your car park ticket as you board the ferry. This is far cheaper than parking in SF car parks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    140
    33
    26
    19
See reviews for
129
101
34
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for the Oakland/Alameda. On a recent trip I had my motorcycle stolen from the hotel parking lot at 7 pm. I felt there was very little concern from the management other than we are sorry. When I requested the hotel shuttle take me to the airport to pick up a rental car I was told the shuttle only goes in a two mile radius of the hotel. Only when I complained to the hotel general manager the next day did I get an exception to be dropped of at the rental concession. Two years ago at the same hotel I had parts stolen of my motorcycle with the same level of concern, none. I will not travel to this hotel by motorcycle again.

Room Tip: If you want a good night sleep you want a river view room. The traffic noise on the city view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay with us. The comfort and safety of our guests is my number one concern and I appreciate your speed in bringing this incident to my attention and allowing me to follow up with our security team. If I can assist you further, please let me know. Thank you.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and efficient. There were about 5-6 people checking in at once, so someone came up to help out and get people checked-in. I waited maybe 5 minutes max.
The rooms are very roomy and include a kitchen. I was on the parking lot side of the hotel, so I heard a car alarm going off a few times throughout the night. This is not the hotels fault, so I am not downgrading the place because of the alarm. I would, however, STRONGLY encourage you to get a third floor odd numbered room on the marina (water) side of the hotel. I am sure it will be both quieter and a much nicer view.
Breakfast was nice too.
I got out to the breakfast area around 8am and it was not crowded at all. The front desk said the hotel was totally full, so I was shocked that there was so many open tables in the breakfast area.
The only downfall is the location.
It is in a very desolate part of the waterfront. Yes, Jack London square is only a few blocks away..... But wow! it is a rough few blocks. I am a 45 year old man and I would NEVER walk in that area at night, EVER! Take a look on street view.... ouch!
I did eat at the sausage and beer place just outside the hotel (on the marina). It was filled with locals and had good beers and great sausage! HIGHLY recommended!
I was in town of meetings in downtown oakland. It was not very convenient for me, but they did have a shuttle that went into town every 30 minutes, so it is not terrible. The hotel may be better for tourists with a car (free parking).

Room Tip: Get an odd numbered room! they overlook the water... not the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is a great alternative to paying the high prices and parking fees for hotels in San Francisco. The hotel was convenient, staff was friendly, great amenities. We had a bay view and were very pleased with our decision to stay here. Although the area was not the greatest, we had no problems during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Homewood Oakland-Waterfront in mid-August and it was a nice place. Well kept, nice landscaping, nice accommodations. It was nice to have breakfast each morning, although the food is somewhat pedestrian and a little odd sometimes (pre-cooked omelettes from frozen?). Coffee was not the best but palatable with the flavoured creamers - hey, I'm a coffee snob! Staff were great, very friendly and accommodating - answered any questions I had. The hotel is a bit out of the way, and the port lands in the area are a bit decrepit which might worry some folks, but it's perfectly ok. Great if you have a car with the free parking. The first half of my stay was in a street side room (could be noisy with the freeway but I'm a sound sleeper), and the second half was in a waterview room (very nice, much quieter).

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are much quieter with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

25min from San Francisco by Bart or car, yet feel like a quiet vacation on the water. Lovely break from urban noise. The staff are helpful and kind. The waterfront is lovely...especially wonderful water fowl!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love EVERYTHING about this Homewood Suites... The staff is wonderful and very pleasant, the food is great, and the bed is extremely comfortable. I come to this Homewood about twice a week for business... It's nice to know that when I'm away from home, I'm treated like I'm home here... I wouldn't and won't chose anywhere else to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.