We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save
Ranked #3 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My experience was wonderful. I was in town to go to school - the breakfast was wonderful, the shuttle van saved me (it was more than convenient) and the staff was extremely informative. The noise on the street side was only a minor drawback - I recommend you reserve a waterfront room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wrigt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    120
    26
    23
    18
See reviews for
107
81
33
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My now husband and I just had our wedding at the Piedmont Community Hall, and used the Homewood Suites as our "home base" for the weekend's events. I wish I could give this place 10 stars for the way they accommodated us, our wedding party, and our friends and family!!

First, the prices are SO reasonable considering how pretty this place is - the website just doesn't do it justice! Its literally right on the water. Second, it's a super conveniently located place (15 min from the Piedmont, and just a couple of minutes from the Lake Merrit area.) For a wedding it was great because they have a gorgeous outdoor area by the water for "visiting", and large two room suites with full fridges and living areas where you can get ready. (If your have researched the Piedmont Community Hall at all for a wedding, you know there aren't many hotels in that area.)

Really what made this place so special for us was the staff. Maryanne worked with me to put together the weekend, booking a room for our rehearsal dinner (a super fun "fiesta" from taco grill - cheap and easy), and two suites for the ladies and men to get ready in. Maryanne made sure the suites were in separate buildings (so the groom didn't see me the day of!) with patio access in both. She also had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived! She totally took the stress out of all of those logistics that are really so important the weekend of your big day!

My one note to someone using this place for a wedding: checkout is at noon. I booked the suites for the night before the wedding, then a regular room for my husband and I the night of, leaving a three hour gap between check out and check in. I was very fortunate to extend out check out a couple of hours so we could finish getting ready, but if I could do it all again I would just keep the suite through the next day to avoid the stress.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great hotel that has a nice location along the Oakland Waterfront and marina. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast every morning was very well prepared and all the foods were fresh. Close to Jack London Square and all of the shops and restaurants there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Portal, Ca.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Dinner ends at 645, and no extra pillows, even though front desk promised they were on they way
Had to purchase pillows previous night as embassy suites dropped the ball too
traveling with a damaged shoulder so sleep was a challenge
breakfast was good and a value

Room Tip: nice location on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We’ve very sorry this occurred. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. Your feedback will be taken into consideration. Again, I’d like to offer my sincerest apologies.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hello, I have been visiting this hotel for a long time because of the work I do. I must say this was one of the best times I have had. The Food GOOD! The room was nice. I would like to say Thank you to Ryan, who kept the Beer flowing during Happy Hour, Olivia and Courtney for keep all the food hot and more importantly good and fresh and to Ms. Ron for always smiling and keeping the front desl happy and welcoming! See you all Soon on my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in the studio suite which was biger then expected. and had an excellent view of the Marina. Room was very clean . Breakfast buffet was great and had plenty to choose from. . Dinner reception was better then expected, meals were hot and the complimentary drinks are a welcome bonus after a long day. The Staff was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Michelle We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. We are pleased your enjoying your stay with us. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. Hopefully you will come back and see us.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I used to drive past these I-580 hotels on the way to Oakland Airport thinking you'd stay there, next to the highway, overlooking Oakland....yuk.
Well...I will, from now on. How beautiful! The property is clean, well appointed, well staffed, great food for breakfast and "dinner"......the suites are wonderful and the entire back of hotel overlooks the waterfront with sail boats, glistening water, walkways....just terrific.
I will be back......really wonderful! And the staff is AAAAA+++++++!!!!!!

Room Tip: I've stayed in front and back...all are sound proofed so it really doesn't matter. Obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Linda we are pleased your enjoying your stay with us. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. Hopefully you will come back and see us.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.