We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not cleaned” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Room not cleaned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have a 2 bedroom suite and loved staying at Homewood Suites from the east coast to west coast. Needless to say when we returned this afternoon after being gone since early AM we were disappointed to return to a room that was not cleaned. Neither bedroom or bath had been touched. I called the front desk and they did send someone to the room to fix the error. Still after being gone all day and wanted to come back and relax I was not happy about the shape of our room when we returned.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We’re very sorry this occurred. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. Your feedback will be taken into consideration. I will make sure I share your concerns with the Housekeeping staff. I hope if you’re back in the Oakland area you will stay with us again.

Darcella Wright
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    113
    25
    21
    16
See reviews for
98
71
31
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You really cant beat the location for a stay in the Oakland Area.
On the water, nice view, wonderful stay.
Carlos Rosales and Connie were very accomodating. They made sure to help us fine tune our stay and we opted to upgrade to a better room (reasonable prices make everything possible!) and we enjoyed our stay even more!
Breakfast included. Near Jack London Square. Everett and Jones was incredible!

Room Tip: Choose a water view for the best experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We decided on this hotel because it is pet friendly, has suites with full kitchens and is on the waterfront in Oakland. Homewood Suites has exceeded our expectations. The staff is terrific, friendly and genuinely interested in making your stay as perfect as can be. The suites are very clean with lovely furnishings and the grounds are beautiful. Location is ideal. Breakfeasts and evening meals are complimentary including wine and beer and are delicious! Fresh everything is available. I can't say enough about this place. We are spending 4 days here, looking after our 5 year old granddaughter, who lives 10 minutes away - in a 'no dogs allowed' apartment, so finding a place suitable for looking after her during the day which is close by was a last minute challenge we were not certain we could deal with. Thank you Homewood Suites for making it so easy!! We will be back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have made 4-5 trips to Oakland and have special needs. Cindy and Connie have been amazing in helping with my special needs. The food in the morning is great. The shuttle is a great resource. I cannot say enough for the rooms which are clean. the bed is so comfortable. The Internet is free. It has been a great find!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel every 3 weeks for 2 nights each stay, since August of 2012. We tried several other Hilton Hotels in the San Francisco- Oakland area- This is by FAR the place to stay!

The location is great no matter what direction you are going- easy on and off the freeway. Being next to the bay is wonderful- even a city side room. There's a boardwalk with benches and little private areas along the water. It's clean, and the guests AND the staff are friendly- but better still... They are HAPPY- not just being nice to you because it's their job:-) a Huge plus. It's relaxed. The breakfast is good , with several choices.

We have stayed here enough that there have occasionally been issues or problems... The best part is they acknowledge them, fix them and make sure you are happy and comfortable.

This hotel has the "BEST" front desk staff We have ever encountered! No question about it!! And they are empowered to deal with issues :-) and they do.

There is one very special front desk person... Her name is Ron- if you are so lucky as to check in when she's there you will agree- she's fabulous! She makes you feel "special". We come from Northern CA every 3 weeks because my husband has cancer and is in a clinical trial- after a VERY long trip and infusion all the next day- we come back here to little things she has done for us that just melts away the stress. If she were to go to a different hotel to work ... We would have to follow her :-) as much as we love this hotel!

You can't go wrong here, unless you aren't possible to please:-) they have everything you could ever want! We highly recommend Homewood Suites at the Oakland Waterfront!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.


Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here on a recent visit to Oakland. The room was clean, and the view of the harbor was lovely. They serve a great breakfast, which you can eat outside when the weather permits. Staff is friendly. Met all my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the harbor. I believe this is the odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent three nights at this property. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Daily breakfast was well prepared and delicious. The property is slightly removed from other restaurants and clubs, but there is a shuttle that runs weekdays, that will get you where you would like to go.

Room Tip: The queen room was roomy and comfortable. Ask for a room on the water side as the street side can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We strive high to make our guest happy and provide the best service possible. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland
Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront to your Saves list