We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient to Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
portland,oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“convenient to Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night Christmas Eve and after we figured out where the entrance to the hotel was, we were okay.(it may say Broadway street but the entrance is on a side street; we ended up going around the block a couple of times before we figured it out.) Since it was Christmas Eve, most of the places in the area were closed so we ended up eating at the hotel; we both had a salad as it seemed like they offered a generous portion and it was hard to ruin a salad.
Our room was nice; it overlooked the parking lot (valet parking only; $10 a day I think) so we didn't have the street noise and the bed, as is the case with all Marriott's, was very comfortable. The room was a good size with a king bed and has a fridge and microwave in it.
The hotel staff was friendly and competent and is a major reason I would consider going back if I have to stay in the area again.

Room Tip: Away from the street is always a good thing and the higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. It’s great to hear such positive comments about our hotel staff. I’ll be sure to pass along your comments. Next time you stay with us, be sure to check out the daily Happy Hour in The Bistro – every day from 5-7pm. I hope you had safe travels back home and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    81
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
39
24
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am never disappointed by Marriott! No matter the city, Marriott is the way to go! My friend and I stayed here when we went to Not So Silent Night in early December. We were greeted by a very friendly valet attendant and then more smiles when we were checking in. The ladies at reception were super friendly and asked about our visit to Oakland. Next, we were greeted by a gorgeous, clean, modern room. And the bed. I almost wanted to skip the concert, so I could enjoy the bed longer!
A BART station is literally right around the corner and the neighborhood felt really safe, even at 12 am when were getting back from the concert. There was a food truck parked close by, so we indulged and it was excellent.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent AND they let us keep our car parked in their lot all day after we checked out, so we could take the BART into SF.
I have not one complaint, our room was safe, quiet, clean and comfortable! Excellent stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It’s good to hear you had such an excellent stay with us! I’m glad you were able to take the BART back from the concert – it’s much more convenient that driving and parking at Oracle Arena. If you enjoy food trucks, we recommend returning to Oakland this Summer when Bites Off Broadway returns every Friday. It’s a great rotation of food trucks with live music, movies and art! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Oakland for a wedding and this hotel was recommended by the wedding party. We flew into SF and it was really easy to take the BART - about a 40 minute ride. The train station was a quick two minute walk which was great because we got in really late. The next day we went into SF which was only 15 minutes away.

The room was nicely appointed and perfect for sleeping. We both took advantage of the exercise room which had nice equipment as well. There was a supermarket and a Starbucks right across the street which were very convenient. In addition the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: We stayed on the courtyard side which was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Janis K,

Thank you for your review. What a great reason to be in town. I hope you enjoyed the wedding. Please let us know if we can reserve your stay next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a very clean spacious room- near Chinatown and some great restaurants.
Hotel staff were very helpful -especially with directions to public transport. Too bad breakfast was not included but we found restaurants in Chinatown that were cheap and good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Pat L

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let me know when you are in the area again we would love to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Downtown Oakland while visiting family in Oakland. The hotel staff is extremely friendly, and the location, right next toOakland Chinatown, is great for "walkaround" shopping. The fitness center is large, but not well equipped, with only three treadmills, one exercise bike, and one stepper, along with a rack of dumbells. No weight machines of any kind. The restaurant is the typical "new" Courtyard Bistro. The rooms are recently renovated. The hotel is particularly quiet, given it's downtown location.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are well away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Oakland! Thanks for taking the time to let us know your concerns about the equipment in the fitness center. We appreciate guest comments as it’s an opportunity for us to improve our hotel.

Thanks again for the great feedback about our service, location and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Oakland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've stayed at this Marriot many times and felt it was time for me to give them their "props". Outstanding staff, excellent hotel rooms and amenities. The bay view rooms on the upper floors are delightful and worth requesting. This visit I asked if there was a fridge in the room(normally is) and the desk clerk thought I asked for a microwave. She promptly ordered a microwave for the room. Over 4 years of visiting this hotel I had no idea there were microwaves available. When I corrected her stating that I was asking about a fridge, we laughed, and yes there was a fridge. The hotel's location is PRIME! BART is across the street which opens up the entire Bay area for those who don't want to deal with driving. If you're staying local theres plenty of restaurants,bars and clubs within walking distance or a very short taxi ride. On the weekends there's a free shuttle bus right outside of the hotel that travels up and down Broadway, making a visit to Jack London Square a breeze. Overall this hotel offers it all. Comfort, security, and plenty of options making this a perfect place to stay in Oakland.

Room Tip: Higher floors with the Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re so happy to hear that you’ve had a pleasant experience each time you stay with us. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellent location if taking Bart into the city and visiting east bay (Berkeley/Lake Merritt/Emeryville). Really liked how the "local's" Chinatown is around the corner. Decent room prices and still close enough to San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. I hope you gave yourself a chance to explore Oakland Chinatown – there are some really great restaurants and shops in the area! We hope you’ll stay with us again next time you’re visiting the East Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oakland
#11 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.