We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here as an alternative to expensive San Francisco hotels, location is really convenient (right across the bridge) to driving and mass transit, staff was helpful with directions and attraction information. All the businesses are Asian and other than the hotel restaurant there were not many other options for dining, but that was not a problem since we spent our day in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
33
21
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here before. This is not a fancy hotel, but very reasonable in price (especially when there's a deal). The location isn't perfect but it isn't bad. It's only a block from BART and there are some very nice restaurants nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful. I wasn't happy with the room they first gave us as it was near the elevator. They were quick to accommodate a request for a change which was very pleasing. They have done away with free coffee in the lobby as they now have a small food service and have a deal with Starbucks which is a drag. However, their gym was under repair so we were able to use the gym in the nearby Marriott (less than a block away), which was gorgeous and kept up well. Be sure to try to use that gym! Not the Ritz, but all in all, a very satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street, not the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nicely appointed room - nice painting reproductions, comfortable bed, lots of power outlets. But paper cups for the one cup of morning coffee (my #1 complaint about corporate hotels is saving pennies by not giving ceramic mugs; and here only one serving of coffee!). Overly solicitous front desk ("you'll have a room with a view of downtown!" as if that is a plus in Oakland). For a business trip to downtown Oakland, however, it was reasonably priced and a good sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

First day - The TV remote control doesn't worked. We asked for a new one. Waited forever. Picked one up from the front desk. Still doesn't work. Called front desk for a new one. Never arrived.
Second day - my two kids are swimming in the pool. There are lots of leaves floating in the pool. I went to ask the front desk for a pool cleaner to scoop up the leaves. This was 1/2 an hour ago. I already asked them 2x. Guess they are short of staff at this hotel. They allow people to smoke in the outdoor pool area while kids are swimming. Guess the no smoking policy in public area is not that strictly enforced here.
It's a nicely renovated place. It's ok to stay for the night and go. Just don't use their facilities or ask for anything. Don't bother asking for anything. They would not get it to you. EVER!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM1, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that you had issues with the front desk. I can assure you that this is not typical service at our hotel and we’ve brought your comments to the attention of our team members. Our staff typically goes above and beyond to make sure guests have a comfortable stay. We know how important it is for travelers to have a hotel that provides good service and a comfortable place to relax. I hope you will stay with us again next time you’re in Oakland and let us show you the level of service that so many other guests have come to expect at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As a business traveler, this is no more, and no less, than a place to sleep. I is difficult to knock because the staff was very nice but sometimes its nice to have an amenity to make the trip worth the effort. This would not be that place. Lastly, if traveling with a companion, the room design is a challenge with the headboard of the bed resting against a very thin wall to the bathroom. Know what I mean?

Room Tip: Marriott Hotel right across the street may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard on Broadway in downtown Oakland is consistent with other Marriott Courtyards. Excellent location with plenty of restaurants, and bars nearby. It is walking distance to Jack London Square. The Bart station is a block away and the best way to get to San Francisco. A taxi stand is also near the Bart station. It's in an older building that has been remodeled. I had a good rate. Make sure you research their rates well. You can find all of them on the Courtyard website if you look carefully and click the + near the rate you are looking for. I had a govt/military rate which was best, but the AAA is good too.

Room Tip: A room with a window facing Broadway may be a bit noisier, but it was still fine for me. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Attended a convention here in February. Facilities were all conveniently located, elevators worked well. Food was good and employees were helpful. I was surprised to find that internet access was $10 extra from rooms, (though free in some public areas), and that parking was very expensive. There is a BART station across the street for easy access to San Francisco or anywhere else on the route.

Room Tip: You might try to get a room on the Bay side of the hotel for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.