We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just a Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As a business traveler, this is no more, and no less, than a place to sleep. I is difficult to knock because the staff was very nice but sometimes its nice to have an amenity to make the trip worth the effort. This would not be that place. Lastly, if traveling with a companion, the room design is a challenge with the headboard of the bed resting against a very thin wall to the bathroom. Know what I mean?

Room Tip: Marriott Hotel right across the street may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    89
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
39
27
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Fork, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard on Broadway in downtown Oakland is consistent with other Marriott Courtyards. Excellent location with plenty of restaurants, and bars nearby. It is walking distance to Jack London Square. The Bart station is a block away and the best way to get to San Francisco. A taxi stand is also near the Bart station. It's in an older building that has been remodeled. I had a good rate. Make sure you research their rates well. You can find all of them on the Courtyard website if you look carefully and click the + near the rate you are looking for. I had a govt/military rate which was best, but the AAA is good too.

Room Tip: A room with a window facing Broadway may be a bit noisier, but it was still fine for me. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Attended a convention here in February. Facilities were all conveniently located, elevators worked well. Food was good and employees were helpful. I was surprised to find that internet access was $10 extra from rooms, (though free in some public areas), and that parking was very expensive. There is a BART station across the street for easy access to San Francisco or anywhere else on the route.

Room Tip: You might try to get a room on the Bay side of the hotel for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The staff was excellent! The location outstanding. Flew into Oakland, took Bart to 12th street and walked off Bart and crossed street to Hotel. Our room was more than we needed or expected for a one night stay. Walking distance to a great Thai restaurant and Jack London Square. The person that took my reservation sent us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! (I mentioned it was our anniversary and could she connect me to room service...she said it was not available at the moment....next thing I knew!) we were off to the Paramount theatre and the Oakland shuttles were free and convenient. Yes!yes!yes! I'd stay there again. Chinatown was a blast to walk around, an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I wanted to particularly compliment the clerk at check-in, Steve, who gave us great suggestions for brunch and dinner during our 11:30 pm check in. When he realized his directions were a block off, he called us in our room as soon as we walked in. His brunch tip for a local eatery (the Oakland Grill) was a great local business we would not have tried on our own. As of this writing, they are in the middle of a remodel to the reception/lobby area. Right next door to Old Oakland, China town, and a short walk to hosts of places to eat. Our weekend stay was very quiet at night, very clean.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

really a pleasure to stay for a Weekend, really good service and friendly team. clean and nice atmosphere, fully recommended! We are coming back for sure , big space and very clean , I will recommend it for sure to my family and friends

Room Tip: 348 room really big and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay for business. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very good. It is in a good loaction and easy to get to the interstate. If your in the area for business I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.