We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in downtown Oakland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in downtown Oakland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

You get what you expect from a Courtyard. Clean rooms. A bit on the boutique-y side boarding Chinatown. Very friendly staff. The hotel is undergoing a renovation. Across the street from the Friday Farmers market. Lot's of restaurants nearby. Neighborhood seems a little sketchy but I felt safe walking the main streets at night. Within walking distance to the 12th BART station. The only negative was the workout room that had old equipment was weren't in the best working conditions. But this should be improved with the renovation. I found a rate for under $100, so it was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    64
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
30
18
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Super weekend rate! Great Breakfast! Great newly remodeled room! Great Service! Next to Chinatown. We decided to park on the street and it was easy enough to find street parking on the weekend. Easy to maneuver around. After reading many of the reviews we decided that the area was not really an issue and it wasn't.....will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've had to go to Oakland Ca. several times last year and earlier this Jan.and the hotel choices are minimal at best. The full serve Marriott is too often sold out at my company's rate and I've had to go across the street 3 times. It is old-school Courtyard in a dreary looking 'storefront' location on Broadway. Doors lock at night and security is on-site, because, to say the least, the neighborhood can be unnerving, especially at night.
The hotel is finally catching up with the times and in the midst of upgrading to the newer Courtyard model. But the rooms need upgrading as well. Took me up to 5 minutes to get warm water in the sink. Same worn out towels you get at most Courtyards. My co-worker returned every night to her room and got a cheap high as the 'weed' odor wafted into her room - every night! It's Oakland - I get it! Breakfast room was freezing - weather was quite cold, but hey, turn the heat on. Company paid $194 per night before the $27 tax - Yup, I said corporate rate of $194.
Positives: Immediate area seems to have private security guards and there are several good restaurants 2 blocks away - area well lit
Positive: Everyone on the staff was good and cordial
Recommendation: BART is on 2-3 stops from downtown San Francisco, close to everything and likely cheaper rates!

Room Tip: rooms inside are quieter though street is not much of an issue in front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is my first time in Oakland. I have stayed with Marriott before, so I know their reputation. This one is right in China Town, which I like. There is a art & Final right across the street. My room was very clean and cozy. The staff was awesome and genuinely smiling. I have to come up here periodically for school, so this will be my Bat cave when am here. I have been in worse neighborhoods than this. Just be aware of your surroundings and use common sense...that goes for anywhere you go.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In a great part of town - nice beds - quiet rooms, the staff is the best, so extra friendly, they went out of their way for each little request. The neighborhood restaurants are the greatest, enjoyed my two days there, next to China town, Get there on Friday for the little market across the street. Wonderful produce and the best street food ever, such varieties.

Room Tip: there is not a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

In downtown Oakland, there's always a bit of concern about the quality and safety of the neighborhood. This hotel was easy to get to. The parking attendant staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. The workout room was adequate with several treadmills and free weights. The desk staff were helpful in giving us directions to a restaurant which was within walking distance of the hotel-a brew pub. I felt safe walking in the neighborhood in the evening. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and happy that they gave the State rate. The hotel is very close to a BART station and The California Endowment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

First trip to Oakland - and not a fan! Saw the other reviews and heard stories from colleagues about how rough it can be. Heard about a carjacking that week at Jack London Square. But this is a hotel review - the hotel itself was clean, lobby was inviting, coffee bar staff helpful, check-in staff friendly.....So, if you have to stay in Oakland (sometimes out of your hands), this is a good spot....just watch your 6!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard
Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.