We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extra clean, really nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“extra clean, really nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

nice hotel, clean, very helpful and friendly people. Their mission is to keep you comfortable and safe. They will let you know what is safe and what is not. The BART station is about 1.5 blocks away, doable with a suitcase from the airport, but I wouldn't do it too late at night. Weekends the "street people" roam the streets more than on the weekdays. disadvantage of the hotel is that it is away from San Francisco. BART is a pretty good way to get around but stay off the Richmond train. Stick to Pittsburgh, Bay point. We did not have any bad experiences on that train. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: jCall the hotel directly for a room, you will get a better and bigger room than if you go through tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    100
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
43
42
27
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Front desk very friendly and helpful, great location one block from BART, very clean room. Room does not have a safe but the bed was very comfortable. Restaurant had a very good breakfast buffet. A nice, always reliable Marriott experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were allocated a room on the 20th floor which had fantastic views over San Francisco Bay. Staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for a great few days and we would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times over the past few years on my annual visit to friends in Livermore. Love the location, good for Chinatown, the California Museum, Lake Merritt, various very good restaurants in the area and BART is a block away. This year, unfortunately, it is booked up for the dates I need and I'll have to stay elsewhere. Very disappointing, esp. when I'm booking weeks in advance. Oh, well....

Room Tip: Good restaurants all around hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here numerous time and seem to have issues with this property. So on my last stay (9/23-24) it was issues with the "HOT" water it took for ever to get hot and when it did it wasn't real hot but that wasn't my main concern. My GF valet her car at 5am and when she valet she asked how much the cost would be and the gentleman told her $14 but at checkout they wrote $17 after complaining to the front desk, the lady at the front desk then called for a manager and another worker said "whats the problem"? and she responded that we didn't want to pay for the parking. At no time did I say I didn't want to pay for parking, the issue was the change in pricing than what was quoted. The manager came up and really didn't care, they made a big deal over $3. So I would reccomend that you make sure you verify parking fee before giving your car to Valet. For a $220 a night stay and being a Marriott Elite rewards member I didn't see the proper customer service also if you ever get the jacuzzi room check the jacuzzi immediately on a previous stay it didn't work and I didn't know til after a couple of check in.

Otherwise this is a nice Courtyard, very clean and fresh smelling.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were in need and the hotel came through. The prices allowed my stressed out friends to enjoy a great weekend with my wife and me. I loved the value and got the same service that I would have gotten from a five star.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very clean, well kept Courtyard. The common areas are very useable, and the rooms are comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well and was easy to log on. Staff was very friendly and efficient. The pool is not one you can swim laps, pool and the exercise room are very small. ( minor quibble, there were no disinfecting wipes to use on the equipment.) There were towels and water. Pleasant surprise on Friday morning was the farmers market across Broadway, I had a french pastry and ripe peaches for breakfast! I used Bart to get here from Oakland airport for the first time. It's doable (you have to take a shuttle bus from the airport to the Bart line) But this is an easy walk from the 12th street exit if you are not laden with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Oakland Courtyard
Oakland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.