We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed several times....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Have stayed several times....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times over the past few years on my annual visit to friends in Livermore. Love the location, good for Chinatown, the California Museum, Lake Merritt, various very good restaurants in the area and BART is a block away. This year, unfortunately, it is booked up for the dates I need and I'll have to stay elsewhere. Very disappointing, esp. when I'm booking weeks in advance. Oh, well....

Room Tip: Good restaurants all around hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
34
21
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here numerous time and seem to have issues with this property. So on my last stay (9/23-24) it was issues with the "HOT" water it took for ever to get hot and when it did it wasn't real hot but that wasn't my main concern. My GF valet her car at 5am and when she valet she asked how much the cost would be and the gentleman told her $14 but at checkout they wrote $17 after complaining to the front desk, the lady at the front desk then called for a manager and another worker said "whats the problem"? and she responded that we didn't want to pay for the parking. At no time did I say I didn't want to pay for parking, the issue was the change in pricing than what was quoted. The manager came up and really didn't care, they made a big deal over $3. So I would reccomend that you make sure you verify parking fee before giving your car to Valet. For a $220 a night stay and being a Marriott Elite rewards member I didn't see the proper customer service also if you ever get the jacuzzi room check the jacuzzi immediately on a previous stay it didn't work and I didn't know til after a couple of check in.

Otherwise this is a nice Courtyard, very clean and fresh smelling.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We were in need and the hotel came through. The prices allowed my stressed out friends to enjoy a great weekend with my wife and me. I loved the value and got the same service that I would have gotten from a five star.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very clean, well kept Courtyard. The common areas are very useable, and the rooms are comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well and was easy to log on. Staff was very friendly and efficient. The pool is not one you can swim laps, pool and the exercise room are very small. ( minor quibble, there were no disinfecting wipes to use on the equipment.) There were towels and water. Pleasant surprise on Friday morning was the farmers market across Broadway, I had a french pastry and ripe peaches for breakfast! I used Bart to get here from Oakland airport for the first time. It's doable (you have to take a shuttle bus from the airport to the Bart line) But this is an easy walk from the 12th street exit if you are not laden with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Courtyard Oakland mainly because we could use Reward Points. However, we were pleased with this clean, quiet hotel. The queen beds in our room were very comfortable. WiFi was free and easy to use. The neighborhood was a pleasant surprise. It was fun exploring nearby Chinatown. I wished I'd had more time to spend in Old Oakland, which is very attractive with a fun Farmers' Market on Friday mornings. The free shuttle up and down Broadway makes it easy to get to Jack London Square and the ferry to San Francisco. We'd definitely return to this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Some family members and I stayed at this hotel while attending a family member's wedding in Benicia. Very nicely decorated and clean hotel. My room was large, with a very comfortable bed and siting area. I felted safe while staying at this quiet hotel in the downtown area of Oakland. It is a few short blocks from Jack London Square and Freeways connecting to San Francisco and Berkeley. I enjoyed my room which faced the busy China Town's Farmers Market. There is no parking garage available at this location for self-parking but there is a very good valet service. Just a call to the front desk and your car will be waiting at the front entrance of the hotel. This hotel had a friendly staff and served a good breakfast brunch. I would stay at this location again if in the Bay Area again and I also recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our son lives in Oakland, so when visiting we stay here. The rooms are large and comfortable, the desk staff helpful, beds good. It irks me to pay so much for parking, but - it's a city! The location is great: right at the border of Chinatown and Old Oakland - lots of great places to eat! It's also about 1 1/2 blocks away from the BART, and within walking distance of Jack London Square (about 8 blocks). There is also a Smart & Final across the street for snacks or wine (Courtyard "pantry" prices are silly!!!!), a couple of big drugstores a few blocks away, and Starbucks on the next block. The room has only one ethernet cable for laptop (free internet), but multiple plugs (two on the desk, one on each of three lamps) for charging your many electronics.

Room Tip: If some street noise will bother you, ask for a room overlooking the pool & parking lot rather t...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Free in...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
City Center, Mi...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.